Guest Post

A Christmas Top 10 From Rebecca Minton

Hello lovelies,

I’m Rebecca from http://www.insidemybookshelves.blogspot.co.uk/
Emma has been kind enough to let me on her blog today as part of all her Christmas shenanigans she’s got going on. I love reading Emma’s blog and love being able to guest post. As much as I love reading and books, at Christmas it’s just perfect to sit down with a nice cup of coffee, or hot chocolate or hot drink preference with a good holiday film!

10. How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)

Grinch

Storyline: Based on the book by the famous Dr. Seuss. Inside a snowflake exists the magical land of Whoville. In Whoville, live the Who’s, an also muttated sort of munchkinlike people. All the Whos love Christmas, yet just outside their belove Whoville lives the Grinch. The Grinch is a nasty creature that hates Christmas, and plots to steal it away from teh Whos which he equally abhors. Yet a small child, Cindy Lou Who, decides the try and befriend the Grinch.

My thoughts:
Everyone seems to love The Grinch and as a child I never really liked it and didn’t get what everyone found so good about it. Was pretty obvious how it was going to end anyway. yet I still found myself watching it every single year, and I still do now. Guilty pleasure I suppose. It kinda depicts a true meaning of Christmas to be nice to everyone.

9. Home Alone (1990)

HomeAlone

Storyline:
It is Christmas time and the McCallister family is preparing for a vacation in Paris, France. But the youngest in the family named Kevin got into a scuffle with his older brother Buzz and was sent to his room which is on the third floor of his house. Then, the next morning, while the rest of the family was in a rush to make it to the airport on time, they completely forgot about Kevin who now has the house all to himself. Being home alone was fun for Kevin, having a pizza all to himself, jumping on his parents’ bed, and making a mess. Then, Kevin discovers about two burglars, Harry and Marv, about to rob his house on Christmas Eve. Kevin acts quickly by wiring his own house with makeshift booby traps to stop the burglars and to bring them to justice.
My Thoughts: This isn’t a Christmas film, I hate when people say it is. It just happens to be set at a festive time. But then again it would feel wrong watching it in June?! it’s funny, it’s cheerful. Very very slapstick but don’t we love that?

8. Deck The Halls (2006)

DeckTheHalls

Storyline: Optometrist Steve Finch loves those Christmas traditions he has set up with his family and his town. As such, he has a schedule of activities for his family starting on December 1st, and is the official unofficial consultant for anything Christmas related in his town of Cloverdale, Massachusetts. During the Christmas season, the Halls move in to the house across the street from the Finch’s.
My Thoughts: This should be higher up really but I love the others more! I love Christmas lights and go on a jaunt every year with my mum in the car to find wacky and wild Christmas decs, so this film is perfect for me! Watch it, I dare you to try not to laugh.

7. Christmas with the Kranks (2004)

XmasKranks

Storyline: Luther Krank is fed up with the commerciality of Christmas; he decides to skip the holiday and go on a vacation with his wife instead. But when his daughter decides at the last minute to come home, he must put together a holiday celebration.

My Thoughts: Heheheheh I love this film! Who can be fed up with Christmas?! Who Mr Kranks who! It’s again a funny film, with lots of family fun and great for everyone to watch. I occasionally skip this one if it’s not on I won’t go looking for it but I do find it funny and festive

6. The Santa Clause – Trilogy (1994, 2002 & 2006)

TSC_1

^^ The 1st Film! ^^

Storyline: The adventures of a divorced father who has to care for his son on Christmas. As everybody knows these days are always full of surprises…

My Thoughts: I used the blurb for the first film but I watch all the films every year. They are definite staples in my film collection in the festive season. You get to see how the storyline moves along and you’ve got to love Tim Allen!

5. Elf (2003)

elf
Storyline: Buddy was a baby in an orphanage who stowed away in Santa’s sack and ended up at the North Pole. Later, as an adult human who happened to be raised by elves, Santa allows him to go to New York City to find his birth father, Walter Hobbs. Hobbs, on Santa’s naughty list for being a heartless jerk, had no idea that Buddy was even born. Buddy, meanwhile, experiences the delights of New York City (and human culture) as only an elf can. When Walter’s relationship with Buddy interferes with his job, he is forced to reevaluate his priorities.

My Thoughts: Do I need to say why I love this film? Doesn’t everyone watch this? Funny comical film perfect for watching after a hard day at work. Watching someone find not only the true meaning of Christmas but the true meaning of themselves also.

4. The Muppets Christmas Carol (1992)

muppets

Storyline: A retelling of the classic Dickens tale of Ebenezer Scrooge, miser extraordinaire. He is held accountable for his dastardly ways during night-time visitations by the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and future.

My Thoughts: Well, I don’t love the idea of watching this film but when I watch it I really do love it and the storyline! Oh Dickens how I love you so! Based on Charles Dickens A Christmas Carol it’s the perfect film. me and my mum wait until Christmas Eve and is the last thing we watch before bed, true definition of Christmas for me is this film!

3. I’ll Be Home For Christmas (1998)

homexmas

Storyline: A college student experiences difficulty in getting home for Christmas after being hazed by his friends. While struggling to get home in time for Christmas, he learns quite a bit about himself and the true meaning of the holiday.

My Thoughts: I love this film! It is easily in my top three! I watch this every year and always have well since 1998 anyway, and I will continue to watch it every year. So funny! Very festive and a little romance chucked in for good measure.

2. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

nightmarexmas

Storyline: Jack Skellington, the pumpkin king of Halloween Town, is bored with doing the same thing every year for Halloween. One day he stumbles into Christmas Town, and is so taken with the idea of Christmas that he tries to get the resident bats, ghouls, and goblins of Halloween town to help him put on Christmas instead of Halloween — but alas, they can’t get it quite right.

My Thoughts: Aww, I just love this film so much! I also love Tim Burton who wrote this. I think it’s such a nice storyline and really does show people that Christmas really is a nice and cheerful time of year. It might seem a little childish at first, being a near on cartoon n all but it’s really not. An every year watch for me!

1. Christmas Vacation, also known as National Lampoons Christmas Vacation, (1989)

lampoon

Storyline: It’s Christmas time and the Griswolds are preparing for a family seasonal celebration, but things never run smoothly for Clark, his wife Ellen and their two kids. Clark’s continual bad luck is worsened by his obnoxious family guests, but he manages to keep going knowing that his Christmas bonus is due soon.

My Thoughts: I love love love this film! I can’t wait for Christmas just so I can watch this. And have literally watched it every single Christmas, I’m only 20 it’s been released before that! I watch it at least 3 times! It’s so funny and comical and you can’t help but laugh. if you’ve not seen this I strongly suggest you do!

So there you go, all ten films I watch every festive season. Coupled with a nice mug of coffee and the view of it snowing outside is complete bliss!

Rebecca xxx

Twitter: @BookGeek101
Website: http://www.insidemybookshelves.blogspot.co.uk/

