Review

Review of A Gift To Remember by Melissa Hill

AGTR

Blurb:

Darcy Archer works in a small bookstore in Manhattan. A daydream believer, she refuses to settle for anything less than being swept off her feet by the perfect man…literally. One day, when cycling to work, Darcy accidentally crashes into a sharply dressed gentleman walking his dog. He is knocked out cold, rushed to hospital and the poor pup gets left behind. Wracked with guilt, Darcy takes the dog and makes plans to reunite him with owner, Aidan. As she discovers the mysterious stranger’s world of books, travel, adventure and all the wonderful things she’s ever dreamt about, Darcy builds a picture of this man and wonders if he could be THE ONE… But does fantasy match reality? What happens when Prince Charming wakes up? Will Aidan be the happy ever after she’s always imagined?

Inspiration:

A combo of my love of books, bookshops, dog and New York City.

Review: 

For my 23rd birthday on Boxing Day, I treated myself to the Hardback copy as the Paperback copy is set to be released in April. Melissa has gone above and beyond her duty of being an author as she very kindly sent me a signed something to slip inside the book. It really is A Gift To Remember. Melissa, thank you!

MelissaHill

Dear Emma Louise,
Hope you have a lovely birthday and that you enjoy A Gift To Remember.
Thanks for reading,
Melissa Hill xo

Now for the actual review. Well, Melissa had me at the first sentence: Anyone who says that money can’t buy happiness has clearly never been inside a bookstore. I don’t know about anyone else, but that had me sold! The chapters from Darcy’s point of view begin with delightful literature related quotes which was the perfect addition! Once we hear from the mysterious handsome Aidan, the novel is just amazing.

The narrative is just beautifully written and it’s quite clear that Melissa is extremely talented. If I needed a tourist for New York City, she’d be my first point of call.

I’m not fully sure of how else I can describe the novel apart from the simple and obvious fact that it is truly beautiful. It’s a unique love story which every book lover must read. I’ll definitely be reading it next birthday!

Twitter: @melissahillbks
Website: http://www.melissahill.ie/

