Review

Review of The Runaway Princess by Hester Browne

Blurb:

Amy Wilde is tired of the idiots her glamorous flatmate Jo tries to set her up with – she’d much rather be landscaping a garden with her dog Badger at her side than trying to find the man of her dreams. That is, until she meets Leo Wolfsburg. Handsome, polite, funny, intriguing – Leo is everything Amy could want in a man. Best of all, the attraction seems mutual.

But Leo’s lifestyle is a world away from her own. Private planes, charity balls, exclusive members’ clubs – Amy begins to realise that her simple existence has been turned upside down. And just where is Leo’s home country of Nirona, anyway? Is this all too good to be true?

Inspiration: 

There are so many ‘ordinary girl’ princesses; Kate Middleton, Grace Kelly, Charlene of Monaco, Camilla and Sophie R-J… I was thinking, blimey, what would they dig up on me? And how much would you have to love a man to give up your privacy? What does a 21st Century princess really have to do and what qualities are important?

Review:

Thank you to Quercus for kindly sending me a copy! I was completely mesmerised by the cover and Kev @iHeartChickLit knew I’d love it… And guess what? He was right! Before I start reading books, I always read the dedication first and for me, Hester’s dedication to the Queen of England is very unique.

For me, the meeting between our main character Amy and the handsome Prince, Leo was beautiful and unusual. But for me, every time Leo was mentioned, I couldn’t help but picture Leo from Paige Toon’s The Longest Holiday, therefore, I never really gave Hester’s Leo a chance and I wish I did. He was yummy though!

It was a light hearted, enjoyable read which made me want to watch The Princess Diaries all over again! Fans of Rebecca Chance will enjoy this.

Twitter: @hesterbrowne
Website: http://www.hesterbrowne.com/

