Review

Review of These Things About Us by Laura Beege

Blurb:

Antonia is leaving the last shards of her life in Tucson behind to find her mother and start over. Turns out that’s easier said than done. London is a pretty big city, a hundred bucks don’t get you far and you can’t just make your past disappear. When sweet and caring uni student Wesley gets her a job and a room in his father’s pub, Tony is unprepared for his older brother Trace who despises her at first sight. She’s unprepared for someone whose secrets might be darker than her own. Following a path of breadcrumbs and tangling up in Trace’s past, Tony slips back into a world she thought she’d escaped the day her father went to prison.

Review:

For a few months now, Laura and I have been talking on Twitter and I knew she had her debut novel out and I instantly added it to my TBR list. FINALLY, I got the chance to read it at the beginning of the New Year.

Tony, the main female character (short for Antonia), is first seen in The Dirty Dungeon. For some reason unknown to me, my brain instantly loved the book. I was in two minds whether I was Team Trace – the hot older brother or Team Wes – however, events unravel for Wes which I was very happy about. It’s frustrating that I can’t say exactly what happened because people will moan that I’m spoiling the book for them. But let’s just say, Laura went down a path I didn’t expect her to go down…

The narrative is at an easy pace and it’s very enjoyable. I felt at home with Tony and the other characters. I didn’t want the plot to end if I’m honest. The ending, for me, was the best part as Laura really upped her writing skills by twisting the storyline even further. I was very shocked at the outcome and it’s left me wanting more from Tony and Trace.

There is talks of Laura publishing a second book but I’m unsure whether this is a Tony and Trace based one. I do hope so!

Twitter: @LauraBeege
Website: http://laurabeege.blogspot.co.uk/

