Review

Review of Take Me Home by Daniela Sacerdoti

Take Me Home 150dpi

Blurb:

Inary Monteith’s life is at a crossroads. After a stolen night with her close friend Alex, she’s just broken his heart by telling him it was all a terrible mistake. She has to rush home from London to the Scottish Highlands when her sister’s illness suddenly worsens and in returning she must confront the painful memories she has been trying so hard to escape.

Back home, things become more complicated than she could ever have imagined. There’s her sister’s illness, her hostile brother, a smug ex she never wants to see again and her conflicted feelings about Alex in London and a handsome American she meets in Glen Avich. On top of that, she mysteriously loses her voice but regains a strange gift from her childhood; a sixth sense that runs in her family.

When a voice from the past keeps repeating ‘take me home’, she discovers a mystery that she knows she must unlock to set herself free.

Review:

Since I read Daniela’s last book, Watch Over Me, I’ve instantly become a big fan of hers. Whatever she writes, I know I’ll love and will never be disappointed.

Readers learn straight away than Inary, the main character, has an unusual gift just like her mother and grandmother had when they were younger. I thought the gift would take center stage in the narrative and towards the end, it did but I didn’t read as much of it as I would have liked to. It is by far, the best “I can see dead people” books I’ve ever read.

I related to Inary instantly when I learnt of her love for owls – me too! Naturally, I spoke to the author about it on Twitter and it turns out, the three of us have the beautiful birds in common. It’s little details like that which make me love and adore narratives more than I ought to.

The point of view changes for each chapter is a skill of Daniela’s which I love. Sometimes, authors get it wrong but by clearly stating at the start of the each chapter who is speaking, Daniela gets it spot on. With the aid of her younger sister Emily, Inary gets her Glen Avich life back on track.

I can’t wait for Daniela’s third novel dates to be released – I’ll certainly be reading it.

Twitter: @DaniSacerdoti
Website: http://danielasacerdoti.com/en/

