Review

Review of Fairway To Heaven by Lily Malone

Blurb:

When Jennifer Gates drives to Sea Breeze Golf Club to kick off date-night with her boyfriend, the last thing she expects is to find Golf-Pro Jack giving one of his lady students a private—and very personal—lesson in bunker-play. Lucky for Jenn, her best friend gives her the keys to the Culhane family’s beach shack on the white-pepper shores of Western Australia’s Geographe Bay. Jenn hopes a weekend on the coast with her young son will give her the space she needs to rebuild her confidence after Jack’s betrayal. But she’s not the only person seeking sanctuary by the sea. Brayden Culhane is there too, and Jenn can’t look at Brayden without remembering the tequila-flavoured kiss they shared on the shack steps years ago.

As long-buried feelings are rekindled, and a friendship is renewed, Jenn knows it is more than lazy summer days bringing her mojo back. Romantic sunsets, ice-cold beers and the odd round of golf can only go so far, because this time, trusting Brayden with her heart won’t be enough. Jenn has to learn to trust her body, too.

Review:

Thank you to Lily, the author, for kindly sending me a review copy. Upon reading the blurb, I automatically thought that I wouldn’t enjoy the novel simply because it involves golf and it’s a sport which I find extremely boring. However, golf was only a light subject of the narrative yet it set up the opening nicely.

The first chapter was very dramatic and in the eyes of the author, it’s a great way to draw the readers in and keep them hooked. However, I did find that the main character Jennifer was selfish. In her unexpected decision of what to do next, I found that she didn’t take in the consideration of her son’s feelings and how his life would be changed. This for me was a deal breaker in turns of liking the main character and it did put me off the novel slightly. The epilogue for me was a pleasant touch but opened with a subject topic which I’ve never read about before and it did surprise me. I was pleased that Jennifer managed to find her happy ending, because after all, that’s what all women want.

In terms of editing, as this is a self published book, I did find that it could have done with another round of polishing off. There were a couple of paragraphs which could have been tweaked as the character generally lacked depth.

Twitter: @lily_lilymalone
Website: http://lilymalone.wordpress.com/

