--

Interview with Hannah Emery

I’m delighted to have a new Harper Impulse on my blog today as I always love the novels they publish. Hannah is new to the line of authors and she’s incredibly sweet so please send love her way!

image002

Blurb for Secrets in the Shadows:
In 1920s Blackpool, Rose has her fortune told: she is warned that she must find the boy with purple eyes, for he will give her a gift.

In 1950s Blackpool, Louisa has a gift: she can see visions of the future. But what she sees isn’t always what she wants, and she spends a lifetime trying to change the images of her fate that torment her.

In present day Blackpool, Grace has a secret: she has seen a perfect premonition of her own wedding day that makes her sure of who she must marry. But the man in Grace’s vision is the same man her own twin sister loves. Haunted by her mother’s mysterious choices in life and overwhelmed with certainty that her own future is predestined, Grace must make a choice: chase the future she thinks should be hers, or ignore the powerful premonitions and follow her heart.

Q. Congratulations on becoming a debut author for Harper Impulse! For those who haven’t heard of you via the wonderful world of Twitter, tell us a little bit about yourself…

A. Thankyou! I have always loved stories and am a bit of a daydreamer. The books that first made me want to write were the Sweet Valley Twins books: I was OBSESSED. Even when I was young, I couldn’t read without wanting to stop and write something of my own and I’m still the same now.

My life is quite hectic. I’m doing that juggling thing that so many women talk about these days: work, a child, a house, family, friends. Once all of these lovely things are sorted, I sit down with tea (during the week) and wine (at weekends) and write, then read, then write again.

hannahcemery

Q. How did you feel when you found out that you were going to be published?
A. I felt completely elated. I said something incredibly professional to Charlotte Ledger when she called me and told me the news, along the lines of ‘I think I’m going to die.’ I can be a bit dramatic at times.

Q. What three words would you use to describe your book?
A. Mysterious, magical, romantic.

Q. What was your high point whilst writing your debut?
A. Getting a place on the RNA New Writers’ Scheme. It gave me a deadline to work towards and a lot of motivation.

Q. How did you come up with the title?
A. The title changed a few times, but Secrets in the Shadows seemed to be the one that represented the key themes and feel of the book the best.

Q. If you could have one person (alive or dead) read your book, who would it be and why?
A. Ooh I love questions like this! Can I have two? I would have loved my great grandmother to read my book. She ran a boarding house in 1960s Blackpool, so she could have told me if I’d got old Blackpool right. But I also cannot WAIT for my daughter to read it. She is only 2 though, so I’ll have to!

^^ Celebrating in style! ^^

Q. What’s next for you?
A. I’m working on my second book for Harper Impulse, which involves bit of romance, a touch of magic and some long-buried family secrets. Those are my absolute favourite books to read and write.

Twitter: @hannahcemery
Website: http://hannahcemery.wordpress.com/

