Review

Review of Love Is A Thief by Claire Garber

Blurb:

Kate Winters might just be that girl. You know the one. The girl who, for no particular reason, doesn’t get the guy, doesn’t have children, doesn’t get the romantic Happy Ever After. So she needs a plan. Having been dumped by the man she thought was the One, Kate asks herself what she missed out on because she fell in love. And she sets about taking back what love has stolen from her. What she doesn’t realise is that, along the way, she might just find love again…

Review:

When I spotted Love Is A Thief in a local The Works shop, I fell head over heels in love with the cover (a different one from above!) and when I flipped it over to read the blurb, I knew it was a novel which I would enjoy.

The narrative opens with a prologue from a weak woman’s point of view, who readers more formally know as Kate. She wants to be back with her ex but knows that it won’t happen any time soon, so she needs a plan of action and readers are taken on the journey alongside her.

After a couple of chapters, I started to feel really sorry for Kate. We’ve all been there; lost the boyfriend we thought was ‘the one,’ cried over him a million times, wanted him back on more than one occasion but we all know it doesn’t always work out. I really connected with the plot and it was a ‘been there, done that, got the t-shirt’ kind of plot – highly realistic! The snippets of the magazine which Kate works at where a magnificent idea and really built the narrative up more and more.

It’s never too late to become who you were supposed to be…

This is Claire’s debut novel and it was a really lovely read. Her writing style is fresh, up lifting and straight to the point. But I have to be honest – I wanted to punch her boss. If he said the t-w-a-t word one more time! Ahhhh! It was damn annoying to have to read that word over and over. It kind of put me off the narrative a little as it’s a word I strongly dislike.

The sweet relationship that Kate has with her Grandma is incredible and I loved reading about them together. For me, this plot seemed obvious but it wasn’t. It wasn’t the obvious ending and that’s the highlight for me – it proved me wrong!

The epilogue was short and sweet. It focused on everyone which I really liked. Nine times out of ten, it’s mainly about the main character(s) but not this time. Readers aren’t left wondering what happened to everyone else which I enjoyed.

Twitter: @ClaireGarber
Website: http://loveisathief.com/

