Review

Review of The Mini Break by Jane Costello

Blurb:

When Sophie’s friend Anisha is sent on her first foreign trip in her job at a travel agency – and gets to take Sophie with her – she jumps at the chance of some time away. But what Sophie doesn’t realise is that there is a catch – a rather large catch. The five-star hotel is also a world-renowned golf resort. And its owners have offered the holiday on the basis of the girls’ golfing prowess. Of which they possess quite literally none…

Review:

Oh my days, I think this is one of the best short stories I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. I must admit, I don’t read as many of Jane’s books as I should. I think she’s a fantastic writer and more people ought to read her work (like myself!)

Sophie and her best friend Anisha are off on holiday for a couple of days. Within a couple of pages, I instantly felt at ease with their friendship. It was laid back, funny and adventurous.

Jane’s writing style is straight to the point, descriptive and in general, it flows very well. There isn’t a moment in this short story where I felt like it was a stop-start-stop-start motion. The descriptions aren’t powerfully and they’ll definitely let you add more in your own imagination which is definitely what I love about Jane’s writing. When an author gives too much description, they don’t allow their readers to imagine for themselves. The sentences are funny, quite and very well written.

James, the eye candy of the narrative is hot. However for me, he didn’t ooze hotness. Perhaps it was because readers don’t really get a chance to get to know him because it is a short story but I’m hoping we’ll see Sophie and James again one day. That is a massive hint for Jane when she reads this!!

When I finished reading, I wanted more. I didn’t want it to end. I wanted more of Sophie, Anisha and James. It just wasn’t fair that it ending. More please Jane.

Now, at the end of the book we’re given an exclusive into Jane’s upcoming novel, The Time Of Our Lives (27th March) and I just wanted to let you all know what you’re in for…

JC_ttool

Blurb:

Three best friends. One five-star hotel. Will it be the holiday of a lifetime …? Imogen and her friends Meredith and Nicola have had their fill of budget holidays, cattle-class flights and 6 a.m. offensives for a space by the pool. So when Meredith wins a VIP holiday at Barcelona’s hippest new hotel, they plan to sip champagne with the jet set, party with the glitterati and switch off in unapologetic luxury. But when the worst crisis of her working life erupts back home, Imogen has to juggle her BlackBerry with a Manhattan, while soothing a hysterical boss and hunting down an AWOL assistant. Between a robbery, a run-in with hotel security staff and an encounter on a nudist beach that they’d all rather forget, the friends stumble from one disaster to the next. At least Imogen has a distraction in the form of the gorgeous guy who’s always in the right place at the very worst time. Until, that is, his motives start to arouse a few suspicions…

What To Expect Just From Reading The Extract: 

 

There will be a lot of amusing lines, famous names, Liverpool, the social ladder, life changes, life long friendships and of course, lots of drama! This is a completely new book from The Mini Break but if you read the two back-to-back, they fit in perfectly with one another. I will definitely be reviewing Jane’s upcoming novel.

Twitter: @janecostello
Website: http://www.janecostello.com/

 

