Review

Review of Soulmates by Holly Bourne

Blurb:

Every so often, two people are born who are the perfect match for each other. Soulmates. But what if meeting your soulmate is earth-shattering – literally? After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them and a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love…

Review:

I’m kicking myself. Seriously. I’m bloody annoyed that I didn’t read this book when it was published back in September 2013. I’ve been glaring at it in Waterstones and WHSmiths for months on end, drooling over the seduction front cover but I’ve only just read it and guess what? I read it on Kindle. Bugger.

Poppy Lawson is 17 years old and she does breathing exercises for 10 minutes every morning. She is surrounded by her three best friends; Lizzie – the budding journo, Amanda – the quiet, shy one and Ruth – the flirt with the big boobs. Poppy was 100% relatable in terms of her struggles in life and the challenges she faces on a day to day basis. Holly, the author, described her life in perfect detail and I was drawn right in.

Noah – MAJOR swoon alert – is the male love interest to Poppy. Talk about ding dong! At first, he came across as a shy, closed off person but once the readers as well as Poppy get to know him, they fall head over heels in love with him. At first, I cringed a little at the choice of name. Noah is very well known for being a romantic male in the Nicholas Sparks novel, The Notebook and I deeply hope that Holly’s future readers picture a new Noah because they are both completely different.

The .2 chapters are extremely interesting and at first, I had zero idea what was going on but as the plot thickens, it becomes very clear and I was automatically cheering Poppy and Noah on from the side lines. It was a giant puzzle at first but every now and then, Holly dishes out new clues.

I hope Holly doesn’t mind me doing this but I really wanted to share my favourite part of the book: “But, I’ve got a loyalty card,” he protested. “And I’ve got enough stamps to get you a free coffee.” Ahhh, true love. I just loved the way Noah said it and it really did make me chuckle.

I refuse to speak about the ending and Holly knows why. She’s broken my heart. That’s all I’m saying, but please do treat yourself to a copy because it’s the most unexpected book I’ve read in a while and it won’t disappoint one bit.

Twitter: @holly_bourneYA
Website: http://www.hollybourne.co.uk/

One thought on “Review of Soulmates by Holly Bourne

Comments are closed.