Review of Take Mum Out by Fiona Gibson

Take Mum Out

 

Blurb: 

“What do you need a boyfriend for? You’re a mum.”

Three blind dates. Two teenage boys messing up her plans. And one man who’ll melt Alice’s heart.

“You need to get back in the saddle…”Alice despises that phrase. She’s fine being single – with two slothful teenage boys and a meringue business to run, she has enough on her plate without negotiating the troublesome world of modern dating. However, Alice’s three best friends have other ideas. Each one will present her with an utterly delicious, eligible man – all Alice has to do is pick her favourite.

Review:

Thank you to the wonderful Avon Books for the very early copy! Today is the publication date for Take Mum Out and I can’t wait for everyone else to read it. Take Mum Out is set in Edinburgh which instantly made me love the narrative that little bit more as Edinburgh is my favourite city. It was an immediate grasp for me.

When we meet Alice, she is setting up her own meringue business, but needs the green light from Erica who is a health inspector. Erica doesn’t like having sons and each time she falls pregnant, she prays it isn’t a boy. I thought it was brilliant that Fiona included this because Alice has two sons; Logan and Fergus and they’re hysterical. It’s made quite clear that Alice’s mad and hectic life is run by her two sons and when she goes on a date, they’re all she can think of. I did hope that after a while, she’d learn how to have some fun and relax.

I howled with laughter quite a lot during the narrative and I can’t wait for you all to read the little incident about Alice’s face cleansing towel and poo. Yes, that’s right – poo. It’s childish of me to laugh but bloody hell, my eyes were streaming with tears.

Overall, I thought the book was superb and I can’t wait to read more of Fiona’s books! Go and treat your Mum this Mothers Day to a copy because she’ll absolutely LOVE it.

Twitter: @FionaGibson
Website: http://fionagibson.com/

 

