Review of Zenith Hotel by Oscar Coop-Phane

 

Blurb: 

I’m a street prostitute. Not a call girl or anything. No, a real street whore, with stiletto heels and menthol cigarettes. Narrator Nanou gives a detailed account of her day, from the moment she wakes up with a foul taste in her mouth, in her sordid rented room, until the minute she crawls back into her bed at night to sleep. Interwoven with her story are portraits of her clients.

Review:

Thank you to Arcadia Books for kindly sending me this little gem of a book.

For some reason, I read this book without reading the blurb and after the opening prologue, I then read the blurb and said out loud, “oh, so it’s a woman!” Little blonde moment from me there as I thought the main character was male… 

Throughout the short book, we meet Nanou and her clients. We don’t learn of how they met, but we did hear a little bit of their conversation. She doesn’t want anyone to know about her childhood or why she’s a street prostitute. What didn’t add up for me was why she told her clients to not talk, but she told us stories about them and their lives. 

All in all, this little gem can be read within the hour. For me, it didn’t have a real purpose but I still enjoyed it.

 

