Review of Beautiful Day by Kate Anthony

 

Blurb:

Today is the day that things are going to change for Rachel Bidewell.

She will walk through the doors of Clifton Avenue Care Home and start a new life. Rachel is returning to work. And as she discovers, juggling a new job, three children and an ex husband can feel like drowning. Someone needs to throw her a lifeline…

Philip doesn’t seem like an obvious lifesaver. He has just lost the one person who ever cared for him and, even as an adult, he doesn’t know how to live in the real world. But might Philip and Rachel each have something the other needs?

Review:

Thank you to Penguin UK for kindly sending me a review copy.

The narrative gets off to an awkward start. Rachel is starting her new job but she’s turned up at the wrong place and more importantly, she doesn’t seem to have done a lot of research…

When reviewing, I’m always completely honest and I always take into account that a book doesn’t just happen overnight. I understand completely that Kate will have worked day and night with this book, but it just wasn’t for me. It was highly anticipated and I couldn’t wait to read it but it just didn’t hook me in at all.

I found the book to be unsettling and as a reader, I needed to know what was happening and who the main character was. I didn’t get to know Rachel or Philip at all. I understood that their friendship was a rare one and I expected it to be a Grandfather/Granddaughter type but it had no effect on me whatsoever.

Just because Beautiful Day wasn’t for me, it doesn’t mean to say that you won’t enjoy it. Don’t take my word for it. As a book blogger, I’ve realised that we all have very different opinions and I would never publically bash a book. It just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Twitter: @KateLAnthony

 

One thought on “Review of Beautiful Day by Kate Anthony

  1. Thanks Emma Louise – obviously I wish you’d enjoyed ‘Beautiful Day’ and I’m really sorry that you didn’t. However, I am grateful that you took the time to read it and put together such an honest review. I hope the next book you read is a humdinger!

    Like

Comments are closed.