--

Review of The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me by Laura Tait & Jimmy Rice

Blurb: 

Everyone remembers their first love.

Holly certainly remembers Alex. But she decided ten years ago that love wasn’t about mix tapes and seizing the moment – though she’s not exactly sure it’s about secret dates with your boss, either. But what if the feelings never really went away?

Alex wants to make every moment of his new job count. It’s a fresh start in a big city, and he’s almost certain that moving to London has nothing to do with Holly. Almost. How do you know if it was meant to be. or never meant to happen at all?

Review:

Thank you to Transworld Books for very kindly sending me a review copy. I’m absolutely delighted to present my review of this book because it’s one of those which you’ll be proud to own and you’ll want to show off to everyone.

Holly loves Alex (I do too…) and she’s not afraid to admit it. In the opening of the book, we hear from both main characters and this continues throughout. For me, it didn’t matter who wrote which chapter because there was no comparison at it. If someone read this book without knowing that two authors had joined forces, you wouldn’t be able to tell. That sounds like a bad thing, but it’s not… The love that Laura and Jimmy have for their plot and characters shines through and their separate chapters combine perfectly together.

Alex shows the readers what May 2010 looks like for the both of them, before Holly dramatically drags us back to the golden era of the 1990’s. For me, Holly and Alex are the real deal. They’re best friends who have unconditionally love for one another and once they come back into each other’s lives, the chemistry is like nothing else. I desperately wanted to shake them both so they would realise that true love is right under their noses. But the fictional world isn’t as easy as that…

Overall, the plot had me in fits of giggles and my favourite line was: My first memory is of her explaining that whenever our burglar alarm sensor flashed in the living room, it was Father Christmas checking if I was being good.

I can’t wait for the next book from Laura and Jimmy. They’ve done an amazing job with their debut and in the next couple of months when the Paperback is released, I’ve got a sneaky feeling that it’ll be one which everyone talks about.

Twitter: @LauraAndJimmy

