Review

Review of Rock My World by Julie Shackman

Published: 9th February 2014
Publisher: Not So Noble Books
Pages: 263

 

Blurb:

Ruby Cameron is an ambitious reporter for a local paper where she is fed scraps of news, and lives with a man whose “idea of living dangerously is to leave the heating on when we pop out to the shops”. But after catching her squeaky clean boyfriend in flagrante delicto she ups sticks and moves into her own small home, only to discover the ghostly presence of a cheeky rock star who becomes her confidant as the dynamics of her small town, and her feelings about her dashing new boss, begin to throw up more questions than she can answer. Will Ruby discover who she really is, and perhaps more importantly, who she wants to be?

 

Review:

Thank you to Julie and her publishers for kindly offering and sending me a review copy.

Despite the five star reviews on Amazon, I didn’t connect with the book at all. For me, covers are a big part of enjoying a book. The one you see above isn’t the one which was originally used for the cover. When writing reviews, book bloggers have to take all accounts into aspects and I still feel as if the cover was lacking that ‘wow’ factor.

The reason why I didn’t connect with the book is because of the history of music. I’m a 1990 baby and for me, reading about music from the 80’s was an aspect I didn’t enjoy at all. If the bands were explained of who they are, perhaps I would have enjoyed it a little more but it was clear that Julie hadn’t taken the reader’s age into consideration.

I thought the relationship in which Ruby, a twenty-seven year old journalist had with her boyfriend was very realistic. I was on her side the entire team but I was getting frustrated and wanted her to see sense sooner rather than later.

As someone who has studied writing, I found it hard to read the book because of the poor structure and layout. Perhaps it was the copy I received, but the book was all over the place and that was another disappointing factor.

Twitter: @G13Julie

