Review

Review of Thirteen Weddings by Paige Toon

Published: 22nd May 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Pages: 448

Blurb: 

Last year, Bronte left Sydney for a wedding in England, where she met newly single Alex. After a night of passion they parted ways, and Bronte returned to Australia. Now working on a picture desk for a magazine in London, Bronte is about to meet her new colleague, who turns out to be all too familiar. Although awkward at first, as Alex is now engaged to the girl he was on a break from when they met, they soon become friends. But as the two get closer, and the wedding day looms, it is clear that Alex and Bronte have unfinished business…

Review:

Thank you to Simon & Schuster for kindly sending me a review copy. I wasn’t in when the postman delivered it, so I received one of those annoying red cards. I picked it up the following day and stupidly, I decided to open the parcel on the drive home. Little squeals happened, I’ll admit to that. Everyone knows how much of a fan I am of Paige’s books. They’re beautiful.

Bronte is back in the UK for Polly’s wedding. For the word go, readers learn that she’s not a fan of weddings and especially, marriage. But why?

Alex is a typical Paige Toon leading man – GORGEOUS!! (But Leo from The Longest Holiday is still my favourite.) He’s handsome, clever, talented, but he comes with baggage in the shape of a girlfriend. He plays the Ross and Rachel card – “We’re on a break.” I didn’t believe that nonsense when he first told Bronte but when the spark between them became unbearable, I was instantly #TeamAlex – yes, I did just hashtag in a blog post.

I hate myself for what I’m about to say – I had one tiny issue with the book. At times, Bronte told the reader how she felt, rather than showing them. There were a few incidents where the emotional connection with her
completely vanished but it soon reappeared. She’s not a big fan of emotion and perhaps that was Paige’s intention..

If you’ve read all of Paige’s other books like I have, you will spot a few familiar faces. I got a few funny looks from my Dad when I spotted Joseph Strike Eeek! But when Lily was mentioned, I felt right at home. I wanted to know everything they’d been doing since we last read about them, but of course, it’s not their book.

I always find myself struggling to write reviews for Paige’s latest book because I can never do it justice. The plot progresses beautifully, we learn a lot about Bronte but when readers think they know her – BOOM! – even more history is thrown in. It’s a complete battle to the end of who Bronte wants to spend her days with – Alex or someone else?

Thirteen Weddings is out on 22nd May – You won’t regret reading it, so get comfy…

Twitter: @PaigeToonAuthor
Website: http://www.paigetoon.com/

