--

Review of Two Weddings And A Baby by Scarlett Bailey

Published: 19th June 2014
Publisher:
Ebury Press
Pages: 416

Blurb:

Tamsyn Thorne has not been back to her home town of Poldore for five long years.

But now her brother, Ruan, is about to get married and she has no excuses left.

Her plans to arrive in Cornwall looking chic and successful are dashed when a huge storm turns her from fashion goddess to a drowned rat. Worse, she ends up insulting the local hunky vicar – and then finds a tiny baby abandoned in his churchyard…

Review:

Thank you to Amelia at Ebury Press for kindly sending me a review copy. Around Christmas, I discovered Scarlett and she instantly became one of my favourite authors after I read Just For Christmas, which happens to be my favourite festive read. I couldn’t wait to dive into the wonderful Poldore once more.

It’s no surprise that from the first page, I was instantly comfortable with being back in Poldore and within Scarlett’s Fictional world. She creates incredible characters and I can’t even begin to describe how happy I was to be back amongst them once more. It was like a High School Reunion, but in a good way…

Tamsyn came across as a very happy person. She’s happy when she’s in Paris and kissing her French lover. But she’s not as happy to be back in Poldore. She didn’t have a negative attitude as such but it was pretty obvious that she didn’t want to be there in the beginning, it’s almost as if her Mother had forced her to return for the wedding. With the use of memories of her childhood, readers have the ability to get to know Tamsyn a little better and towards the end, she became a fantastic character. I loved reading about her. She was incredibly witty in her own individual way and the fact that she didn’t care what people thought of her was inspiring.

There was one big elephant in the book and sadly, I don’t literally mean that there was an elephant. Ruan and Tamsyn aren’t exactly best pals. The tension between them, at times, made me feel quite uncomfortable. I wanted them to sort their differences out before Ruan’s wedding and I found myself egging them on. “Come on, make up already!” It was driving me a little mad, I must admit.

The baby was a fantastic addition to the plot as it allowed Tamsyn to realise what she truly wants in life. Does she want marriage and babies or does she want a top fashion career? Her friendship with the hunky Vicar was divine. I loved them together and whether they stayed friends or became anything more, it didn’t bother me.

My favourite line throughout the book was: I believe in you. Isn’t that enough? It speaks so many different volumes and could be said by any of the characters to any of the others. Scarlett’s dialogue is beautifully captivating. I absolutely love getting lost in her Fictional world because I’m never disappointed. I just hope another Poldore book is on its way…

Twitter: @ScarlettBailey

