Review of A Moral Dilemma by Zara Kingsley

Published: 21st March 2014
Pages: 438

Blurb:

Think You’d Never Date A Married Man? Think Again!

Rebecca Hardy wasn’t a naturally deceptive person, though she took quite well to the art of deception. Too well perhaps. She liked to think of it as helping someone out. Female camaraderie and all that. But it had gone too far. She had gone too far. She had, after all, ruined someone’s life. Hadn’t she?

Review:

Today, I’m part of ChickLit Plus Blog Tour for Zara’s book, so thank you very much for the review copy.

The novel begins rather dramatically as Becky, the main character, has caught her long-term boyfriend cheating. I didn’t like Becky from the start, I’m afraid. I found her to be rather self centered and at times, she was a little annoying. She tended to have a “I need drama in my life to make people notice me” attitude. From the rave reviews on Amazon, I really wanted to enjoy this book but I found it to be lacking a hook – an aspect which would draw me in and make me love the book, but sadly I didn’t. I can’t express how much I dislike saying that.

I continued with the book and as the plot progressed, I was happy that Becky forgot all about her snake of an ex-boyfriend. Good for her! I wanted her to burn his clothes and completely forget about him. She seemed to do just that. My main issue with the book is that Zara told the readers what was happening, rather than showing them. I found that the plot left little to my imagination.

Zara’s writing style is very modern and fresh. It’s ideal for chick-lit but I don’t think I’ll be reading the next in the series. Just because I didn’t enjoy this book, doesn’t mean you won’t. This is nothing personal against Zara. It’s just my little opinion.

Twitter: @ZaraKingsley
Website: http://www.chicklitbyzarakingsley.com/

