Uncategorized

An Evening With Holly Smale and Sally Green

EVENT

On Thursday 12th June, I headed to Waterstones in Liverpool for an evening with two bestselling authors: Holly Smale of the Geek Girl series and Sally Green of the Half Bad trilogy. Tickets were £2 and anyone was welcome…

I turned up the event early (after a cheeky McDonalds) and before I knew it, I had front row seats to a wonderful event. The introductions to Holly and Sally were brilliant: they spoke a little bit about themselves, their publishing deal and their inspiration for the books. We were then treated to the opening chapters of Geek Girl: Picture Perfect (third in the series) and Half Bad (first in the trilogy.) This is exactly why I love attending author events, because we have a glimpse into their world and are able to hear the story from their point of view, after all, they are the genius creators.

Event2_HS

Event3_SG

As the discussion flowed, a fellow reader asked for their top writing tips so for those buddy writers out there…

Holly’s #1 Top Writing Tip: Be brave, be honest, be patient (with agents and publishers) and don’t worry about anyone else. Holly wrote about geeks because she is one, so perhaps trying writing about what you know?

Sally’s #1 Top Writing Tip: Be honest, write what you know, the struggle will come but it all takes time. Sally wrote Half Bad with no knowledge of witches and very little research despite Google being her best friend.

After the Q&A session, I was able to meet the two best selling authors for a quick chat, book signing and picture session.

Event4_EH

Myself and the ever so lovely Holly.
*Although my picture was taken with Sally, it was awfully blurry…

EventBooks

I had a fantastic evening. Thank you to Liverpool One Waterstones for kindly setting up.

My review of Half Bad: https://owlsandstags.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/review-of-half-bad-by-sally-green/

Stayed tune for my Geek Girl ones!

 

