Review

Review of The Atlas Of Us by Tracy Buchanan

Published: 31st July 2014
Publisher: Avon
Pages: 400

Blurb:

How far would you go for the one you love the most?

A stormy love affair. A secret. A discovery that changes everything…

Louise Fenton flies to a devastated Thailand to search for her mother, missing following the Boxing Day tsunami. The only trace she can find is her mother’s distinctive bag. Inside it is a beautifully crafted atlas belonging to a writer named Claire Shreve. But what is the connection between Claire and Louise’s missing mum, and can the atlas help Louise find her?

As Louise explores the notes and mementoes slipped between the pages of the atlas she learns the story of a life-changing revelation, a tragedy and a passionate love affair. And she uncovers a secret that nearly destroyed Claire and the man she loved – the same secret her mother has been guarding all these years…

Review:

Thank you to Avon for very kindly sending me a review copy. Fair warning to any book bloggers who are about to read this: Buy a large packet of tissues and towards the ending, whip them out. Believe me, you’ll need them. I owe a lot to the person who invented waterproof mascara…

The opening to the narrative is horrifically dramatic; a woman’s life is in danger. We know nothing about her – no name, no age, no personality description, nothing. The descriptions of Thailand are extremely vivid. I got a real sense of panic and fear when I continued reading about this woman, fighting for her life. It made me put down the book and do a few deep breaths. Fiction can do that to a girl…

It was very bizarre to read about the Tsunami which happened on my birthday. I love that Tracy took a real event which was all over the news and she turned it into a tragic yet beautiful piece of Fiction. With the flashbacks to the 90’s decade, we learn a lot more about who Claire is and what she has to do with Louise’s Mum. I was incredibly impatient with this book – I wanted to know all the details and I wanted to know them straight away. But that didn’t happen. Tracy delivers pieces of information when the time is right. The narrative is a real struggle to some characters as they have to decide what path to take next in their life. I had no idea how these characters would be connected, but when all was revealed, it was surprisingly shocking.

My favourite character was Louise. As much as I enjoyed reading about Claire, I found Louise easier to like. She was focused on finding her Mum but at the same time, she had to worry about her two daughters back at home whilst dealing with her ass hole of a husband. I’m sorry Tracy, but he was a jerk. Before I read the book, Avon warned me that I would quickly fall into step with the narrative and the characters. Oh boy, they were right. I loved the relationship between Claire and Louise, especially in the epilogue. It was truly beautiful and heartwarming.

I had to choke back the tears during the final chapter as it was true emotion being passed between the talented author, Tracy and the reader, you and I. This book is one which makes you think about life – don’t take anything for granted, live every day like it’s your last. In that case, read The Atlas Of Us…

Twitter: @TracyBuchanan
Website: http://tracybuchanan.co.uk/site/index.php

One thought on “Review of The Atlas Of Us by Tracy Buchanan

  1. This sounds like a really interesting book. I will definitely buy a large box of tissues if this makes its way to by TBR pile. Thanks for the review

    Like

Comments are closed.