Review

Review of Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson

Published: 31st July 2014
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Pages: 438

Blurb: 

Ben Lawrence seems to have it all – the hot job, the flashy car, the luxurious apartment. But one tragic day in his past mars his future. Since the events of that day he hasn’t truly got close to anyone. He made a promise that love was the price he would pay for his mistakes. When Effy Jones – a bright, ambitious charity founder – walks into the PR firm where Ben works, neither realise that their lives are about to be turned upside down.

Review:

Thank you to Hodder & Stoughton for kindly sending me a review copy.

From the opening chapters, we learn a lot about Ben. He’s handsome, he’s very successful, he’s single (and has been for a while), but he’s a worrier. More importantly, he worried that he’s not pleasing his arrogant boss Dermot. When we learn of his “relationship” with Marina, it’s just all about being a booty call – and she’s not the first one to be crawling into his bed at silly am. But I liked that about Ben – he’s young and he’s having fun. Your 20’s allow you to do that.

Feelings would change, someone would want more and suddenly there would be expectation and with expectation came disappointment and ultimately anger.

Our attention then turns to Effy (love the name!) who quite cleverly introduces the meaning behind the title, Paper Swans and I found myself in awe of her creativity. Her boyfriend Frank was a pain in the ass! My god. He was an attention seeking sigher and I’ve met a few of those in my time. He seemed very “ohh, everyone look at me all the time” and it didn’t surprise me that Jessica mentioned he used to be a model.

Jessica’s writing style is very unique. I fully enjoyed how the chapter titles were lines from the upcoming paragraphs. Her use of the date, time and place is her stamp of author individuality and I always look forward to her captivating plots.

Ben and Effy have one thing in common – work. They work 24/7 and barely have time for anything else. True to Fiction, I bet you can guess what brings them together. I’ve read a lot of “professional to sexual” books before and I really hoped Jessica would make hers stand out above everyone elses and with Ben’s back story, she does just that. He’s troubled and it’s not until the very end that we realise why. The way in which Jessica brought the book to an end was shocking, emotional yet captivating. The ability to love someone despite all their mistakes is a fantastic message which shines throughout.

Twitter: @Jthompsonauthor
Website: http://jessicathompsonbooks.com/author/jessicathompsonbooks

2 thoughts on “Review of Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson

Comments are closed.