--

Review of Never Google Heartbreak by Emma Garcia

Published: 14th March 2013
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Pages: 352

Blurb:

When her fiancé Rob breaks off their engagement for the third time, Viv does what any girl would do – she Googles heartbreak.

Confronted by tales of misery, she decides to set-up her own self-help website for the broken-hearted. But as Viv passes through the three essential stages of grief (denial, vodka, disastrous haircut), she becomes determined that it’s not too late to try and get Rob back.

When things get out of hand after a drunken declaration of love at an extremely inappropriate moment, Viv’s scruffy, tequila-swilling best friend Max is there to pick up the pieces. Viv starts to realise that maybe the real thing has been under her nose all this time, and now – one ex and a massive error of judgement later – she has to face the question:

What’s the craziest thing you’ll do for love?

Review:

I received the sequel, OMG Baby! from Hodder & Stoughton so I decided to treat myself to the first, Never Google Heartbreak from Amazon. I’d never read anything of Emma’s before so for me, it was a lot of fun discovering a new author who I’d heard a lot about. This was the fifth book which I read during the #sunathon week.

Sometimes, I read the blurb of books which I’m sent and others I don’t because at times, they give the plot away. Guess what? This one kind of did that. I honestly thought that it told the readers a lot about the main plot line and that’s something which really bugs me about books. However, once I got stuck into the book, I found that with the unexpected twists and turns, this book was brilliantly witty.

Viv and Rob are doing a Ross and Rachel – they’re on a break, but this isn’t an ordinary break, they’re actually over. It kind of came across like it was all Rob’s idea because it kept saying “Viv, you broke up with me.” Actually Rob, you’re a twonk and you called the wedding off so I think that was your idea pal. As you can tell, I don’t like Rob. Viv now lives in a small London flat and relies solely on Post Lucy (BFF #1) and Max (#BBF2). I loved their friendships and how realistic they were. They had little bickering moments over silly things and I liked that aspect.

I thought Emma’s writing was exceptionally witty, refreshing and truly brilliant. She had me in fits of giggles in all the right places and I began reading the sequel OMG Baby! straight away. The review of that will be up in a couple of hour’s time.

Twitter: @EmzaGarcia
Website: www.emmagarcia.co.uk

 

2 thoughts on “Review of Never Google Heartbreak by Emma Garcia

Comments are closed.