--

Review of OMG Baby! by Emma Garcia

Published: 5th June 2014
Publisher:
Hodder and Stoughton
Pages: 448

 Blurb:

This ISN’T a book about babies. It’s not about sleepless nights, nappies or nurseries. It IS about two people, one unexpected pregnancy and a question…

Viv and Max were best friends for years, then they were lovers and then it all went wrong. Now finally they are to be reunited. Viv feels sick. Not just with nerves at seeing Max again, but because there’s a small chance she might… quite possibly… most definitely… be pregnant. It’s thrilling. But also terrifying. Most of the time they can hardly look after themselves, let alone a baby. And then Viv’s estranged mother reappears on the scene and they all end up sharing a bedsit… and hell breaks loose.

HOW ON EARTH ARE THEY GOING TO COPE?

Review:

Thank you to Hodder & Stoughton for kindly sending me a review copy. This is the sequel to Never Google Heartbreak – you can see my thoughts on that below. This was the sixth book which I read during #sunathon and I was pleased to go out with yet another witty book.

We’re back with Viv’s crazy world, but this time, she’s in Spain chasing after the man of her dreams and who can blame her? He’s absolutely gorgeous! There’s just one slight problem – he doesn’t see himself as a Dad anytime soon and Viv is pretty convinced that she’s pregnant without even taking a test. Is she? Maybe she is. Maybe she isn’t…

Due to the fact that this is a sequel, I felt very settled with the characters. I was reading about old friends and I loved reading about Viv and Max. They were just ideal for one another. Viv’s personality is rather loopy, but in the good way. She reminded me of the Muggle version of Luna Lovegood. See, I told you she was good. I wasn’t a fan of her Mother though – Rainey. She irritated me to my bones with her selfish act after selfish act after selfish act. Did she care that she may/may not be a Grandma? No, she didn’t and that really ticked me off.

I thought Emma wrote the sequel just as brilliantly as the first. Major props to her. Once again she’s produced a wonderfully witty book. Roll on her next one!

Twitter: @EmzaGarcia
Website:

