Review of Making Marion by Beth Maron

makingmarion

 

Published: 20th June 2014
Publisher: Lion Fiction
Pages: 320

Blurb:

Marion Miller comes to Sherwood Forest to uncover her father’s mysterious past. She is looking for somewhere to stay, but instead finds herself on the wrong side of the reception desk at the Peace and Pigs campsite. Despite her horrible shyness, she promptly lands herself a job working for the big-hearted and irrepressible Scarlett. It takes all of Marion’s determination to come out of her shell and get to grips with life on a busy campsite, where even the chickens seem determined to thwart her. Then an unfortunate incident with a runaway bike throws her into the arms of the beautiful, but deeply unimpressed, Reuben… Can Marion discover her father’s secret? And will she find peace, and perhaps even love, among the pigs?

Review:

Thank you to Midas PR for kindly sending me a copy.

Marion has purposely wandered into Sherwood Forest and has somehow lied her way into a job. From the first couple of chapters, readers learn that she’s a jumpy person and constantly on edge – but why? With the use of past memories, an aspect which I enjoyed reading about, we learn about her relationship with her Dad as well as a so-called “love life.”

I thought the plot was really well written but there was no main hook for me – nothing to really draw me in, nothing to make me say “oh wow, that’s fantastic.” For me, I thought the plot surrounding her Dad ought to be the main one but at times, it was pushed to one side and Marion just wanted to sort her love life out – really? Overall, I thought it was an easy read with plenty of adventure, but sadly it just wasn’t for me.

