--

Review of The Story Of Us by Dani Atkins

ATKINS_Story of Us, The

Published: 14th August 2014
Publisher: Head Of Zeus
Pages: 400

Blurb:

Emma Marshall can’t wait to marry her childhood sweetheart, Richard. But then a tragic accident changes everything, and introduces a stranger, Jack, into her life. Gorgeous and mysterious, Jack is like no-one Emma has met before. But Richard is the man she loves…

Two different men.
Two different destinies.
How will Emma end her story?

Review:

Thank you to Becci at Head Of Zeus for kindly sending me a review copy. I read, reviewed and LOVED Dani’s debut novel Fractured which was just utterly beautiful. My main question was – what Dani be able to produce yet another stunning book? Silly question…

The narrative begins at the end where Emma (great name!) is getting ready for a wedding. Her own perhaps? The scar on her head reminds her of how life used to be and so, we journey back in time to learn about The Story Of Us. Emma and her two bridesmaids, Caroline and Amy are driving back from the Hen Party when disaster strikes. Luckily for them, handsome Jack comes to the rescue and he is instantly painted as a hero. Panic was alight in my mind when the three girls were in trouble and I found myself frantically reading, wondering if they were all ok. The incident isn’t the only painful storyline to read about as the subplot of Emma’s Mum is quite difficult to read as it’s full of emotion, one which you hope you never have to truly experience for yourself.

In my opinion, the storyline between Emma, Richard and Amy was a little bit predictable as I found myself guessing what would happen between them. But the way in which Dani wrote it was tremendous and full of visual aspects. I thought it fitted well in with the plot and allowed Emma to be pushed into another man’s arms. Richard and Jack are two very different men. I instantly liked Jack but with Richard, he was Mr Nasty from the very start. Something just didn’t feel right about his character.

The ending was a true love story and once again, Dani has allowed the reader to wonder what is truly happening. It was such a beautiful, well told story and all the way through, I felt as if this was a real story. Definitely a favourite of mine from 2014.

Twitter: @AtkinsDani

