Review

Review of Before I Go To Sleep by S.J Watson

Published: 2nd January 2012
Publisher: Black Swan
Pages: 384

Blurb: 

Memories define us.

So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love – all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.

Review:

Thank you to Transworld for kindly sending me a review copy.

Before I Go To Sleep is now a major film starring Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth – I urge you to read the book before you head to the cinema. As the book is split into three parts, I’ve decided to review them individually.

Part One opens the narrative with a confused Christine. With her strong point of view, we learn at the same time that she does. When she meets her Doctor to discuss her memory loss, the truth about a loved one comes across in the journal which the Doctor hands to her. This opening part was quick to devour and despite Christine’s difficult situation, I found the narrative to be really enjoyable despite all her going back and forth, back and forth.

Part Two is her journal. I had a tiny and I mean TINY issue with this section: It wasn’t really written like a journal. There were the dates of her writing but otherwise, it was as if it wasn’t her telling the story which I was a little bit disappointed with. Nevertheless, I continued reading and I still really enjoyed the plot. Christine’s personality slowly came across a lot stronger and it was in perfect time with the narrative as towards the end of Part Two, she was starting to learn the truth and oh my, what a shock it was.

Part Three is in the now – what is happening in the present and this was my favourite part of the book because both Christine and the readers got the answers which they deserved and definitely weren’t expecting. The ending for me was a real climax as the plot gradually built and built. No word of a lie, my eyes could not read fast enough. Throughout the last few pages, I was gasping at the sheer shock of the ending.

I can’t believe that this is the first book from S.J Watson. It really does deserve to be a best selling book and film. I can’t wait to read more of his books. I’m not the biggest fan of Crime/Thrillers books, but this may have changed my mind…

Twitter: @SJ_Watson

6 thoughts on “Review of Before I Go To Sleep by S.J Watson

    1. I love that you enjoyed it. Haven’t read Gone Girl but the film adaptation looks good. Have you seen the trailer for Before I Go To Sleep? They seem to have changed quite a bit xx

      Like

  1. This is one of those books I’ve been meaning to read for aaaages. It sounds really interesting, a little scary because I would not fancy being in the main character’s position at all. So many books and not enough time!

    Like

    1. I couldn’t put it down once I started to read it. I’m not a big crime lover, but this just had me hooked xx

      Like

Comments are closed.