--

Review of Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult

Published: 4th November 2014
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Pages: 416

Blurb: 

Jenna Metcalf was with her mother the night she disappeared in tragic and mysterious circumstances, but she remembers nothing.

Over ten years have passed, and still Jenna reads and rereads her mother’s journals, hoping to find some clue hidden there, in the meticulous recording of her scientific research with elephants. Desperate for answers, Jenna uses all her savings to recruit the aid of a private detective – and a psychic. Jenna knows her mother loved her. She knows she would not leave her. And she will not rest until she finds out what happened that night.

Review:

Thank you to Hodder & Stoughton for kindly sending me a review copy.

The prologue begins with elephants. It immediately got me thinking about how baby elephants never leave their mothers, but in this story, the baby has no choice but to be apart from her mother. We hear from Jenna and her mother Alice throughout the entire narrative and I really enjoyed hearing from both sides.

Jenna is 13 years old and desperately trying to locate his missing mother. I admired her determination more than anything. She’s not the typical teenager, she’s far smarter than anyone else in her class and probably the teachers. I thought that the pacing of the plot at the beginning was rather slow and at times, it put me off from reading. I wanted to pick up the book and not want to put it down, but that simply wasn’t the case. It took me quite some time to really get into the plot and that was only towards the end.

I thought the twist at the end was superb. It was unique, mind blowing and quite shocking. I would never have guessed that, not in a million years. If you do happen to have a review copy or if you’ll be purchasing a copy – please DO NOT spoil the ending.

Twitter: @jodipicoult
Website: www.jodipicoult.com

