Review

Review of A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

Published: 28th August 2014
Publisher: Macmillan Children
Pages: 272

Blurb:

Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop-culture references, order the same Chinese food and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush it looks like they are never going to work things out.

But somehow, even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative-writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at the local Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Now they just need to realize that they’re meant for each other, and start falling in love…

Review:

Thank you to Macmillan for kindly sending me a review copy.

The narrative begins in September when college in the US has just begun. We meet a selection of characters including roommates, teachers, a bench (yes, one that you sit on), brothers, squirrels (yes, as in the animal), students, the bus driver, friends, teacher’s wives etc. For me, there were far too many point of views changes and I really want to hear directly from the two main characters.

Gabe is an awkward teenager and Lea is shy around new people – so they’re perfect for one another! I liked that they met through their Creative Writing class, but I just didn’t feel the chemistry between them and that really let me down.

A Little Something Different was definitely something different to other Young Adult books which I have read. Sadly, this book just wasn’t for me. The point of view really put me off and if it had been from Gabe/Lea, I would have probably enjoyed it more. I could see the author’s concept but it just didn’t click with me.

Twitter: @iamsandyhall

