Uncategorized

Alexandra Brown Talks Books

CHRISTMAS IS COMING! Yes, it may be a couple of months away but that doesn’t stop Alexandra Brown from getting into the spirit. Her new book The Great Christmas Knit Off is set for release on the 6th November and it sounds divine. I sat down with the bubbly lady to have a little natter…

Q. The Great Christmas Knit Off is your new novel – congratulations! For those who don’t know what its about, could you please tell them…
A. Thank you. The Great Christmas Knit Off is the first book in a new series set in the fictional village of Tindledale, following the lives of all the characters that live there. Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale.There, Sybil discovers HettieΒΉs House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that SybilΒΉs wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen.

eBook cover of The Great Christmas Knit Off

Q. Your books are HUGELY popular and book bloggers have been behind you every step of the way. When you began writing, did you ever expect this reaction?
A. Not at all. I hoped, of course, that people might like my books, but I never imagined just how incredible the reaction would be. I owe a huge debt of gratitude to the book blogging community, they have been with me from the start – championed my books, spurred me on, cheered me up when I’ve been struggling to meet a deadline, made me laugh and made me cry on occasion, as not all reviews are brilliant, but that’s OK, I’m just grateful when someone takes the time to read one of my books and then write about it. Bloggers are magnificent, they do an amazing job, sometimes with little or no acknowledgement, because they love books and are dedicated to sharing that love, which is why I always thank them in my acknowledgements, it’s the least I can do! And post them a review copy, although the people in my village post office hate me when I rock up with an armful of books, holding up the queue.

Q. Your new book is out in November and it’s perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan. In your opinion, what’s the best aspect about writing?
A. Hearing from readers. I had an email recently from a woman undergoing fertility treatment, thanking me for writing the Carrington’s books, saying how they had helped her through such an emotional time. It’s a special thing to be able to make a difference to someone else’s life.

Seeing as your book is based around Christmas, lets have a little fire round!

Christmas Pudding or Mince Pies?
Mmm… Both please. I love all of the Christmas food πŸ™‚

Father Christmas or Santa?
Father Christmas! Although it can get confusing for our daughter, QT, as Daddy is Irish and his family say Santa.

Jingle Bells or Santa Baby?
Jingle Bells

Christmas Eve or Boxing Day?
Christmas Eve. I love the anticipation of the exciting days ahead.

When do you start Christmas shopping?
Dec 1st, the day after my birthday.

How do you know it’s Christmas in your household?
When the tree goes up on Dec 1st and I start winding QT up… I meant, ‘gently fuel her excitement’, of course.

Twitter: @alexbrownbooks
Website: www.alexandrabrown.co.uk

