#Blogmas Top 5 Festive Films

Camera-Christmas-Tree-616x386

 

Being snuggled up on the couch, wrapped up in a blanket, drinking hot chocolate and having the tree glisten in the background is the perfect way to watch a Christmas film. So, with that being said, I thought I would share my Top 5 Festive Films with you.

ONE. 

The Santa Clause (1994)

This has been my favourite Christmas film since I was little. If you haven’t seen the film, it’s about Scott Calvin (Tim Allen aka. Buzz Lightyear) who accidentally kills Santa on Christmas Eve. Oops. Scott then has to become Santa and with a little nudge from his ADORABLE son, Charlie (Eric Lloyd), he accepts.

The film is jam packed with actions which will make you laugh, smile and quite possibly smile.

TWO. 

Stardust (2007)

Not a lot of people associate Stardust as a Christmas film but for me, it’s one of my favourites – hint why it’s #2. In a countryside which borders a magical land, a man promises the woman he loves that he’ll fetch a fallen star by venturing into the magical town.

With a jam packed cast, this is one which my family and I really enjoy watching around the 22nd of December. Would you say it’s a Christmas film? Let me know in the comments.

THREE.

The Holiday (2006)

What is Christmas without The Holiday? I tend to watch this film around the very beginning of the month in order to get myself in the festive mood. Amanda (Cameron Diaz) and Iris (Kate Winslet) decide to swap homes for Christmas – dates are never really mentioned but it is around that particular time. After they both have trouble with love, they meet two very respectable men – Graham (Jude Law) and Miles (Jack Black).

It wouldn’t surprise me if this film is a favourite for everyone.

FOUR. 

The Polar Express (2004)

Raise your hand if you have ever watched a Christmas film in the middle of Summer? *raises hand* I’m sure that my Mum is raising hers as well because that’s exactly what we did AND we loved it. On Christmas Eve, a young boy hops on the train to visit the North Pole. I love how many voices Tom Hanks does in this film – can you guess?

This film tends to be on TV quite a few Sunday’s within December so if you’re in the UK, keep your eyes open!

FIVE. 

Deck The Halls (2006)

This film ought to be higher up in the charts but it’s the only one which I haven’t seen a lot of. But still, it’s pretty fantastic. Two neighbours decorate their houses and before you know it, it’s competition time. If you’ve seen Matilda, you’ll know who Danny DeVito is and he’s utterly brilliant in this film.

With lots of laughter, even more laughter and the true meaning of the Christmas, this film is one to watch on Christmas Eve with your loved ones. Unlike my Mum who will be wrapping presents then…

AND….

That is it – my favourite Christmas films all in one. Which do you enjoy watching? Let me go – Home Alone? 

Stay tuned for my top 5 favourite Christmas books this week.

EL xx

