Blogmas · Christmas · Review

#Blogmas Review of Dying For Christmas by Tammy Cohen

Published: 20th November 2014
Publisher: Transworld
Pages: 400

Blurb:

I am missing. Held captive by a blue-eyed stranger. To mark the twelve days of Christmas, he gives me a gift every day, each more horrible than the last. The twelfth day is getting closer. After that, there’ll be no more Christmas cheer for me. No mince pies, no carols. No way out…

Review:

Thank you to Transworld for kindly sending me a review copy. If you’re a reader of my blog, you’ll know that murder mysteries aren’t my usual cup of tea but I decided to bite the bullet and take the plunge. I’m so very glad I did.

By the time readers finish the book, we’re led to believe that the narrator Jessica Gold will be dead. Well doesn’t that just scream HAPPY CHRISTMAS? Dominic Lacey is a creep. Let me make that very, very clear. He sent shivers down my spine every time he spoke and towards the end, he oozed Death Eater.

In Part One of the book, Jessica makes a mistake – one which will cost her twelve days starting on Christmas Eve.  The plot was very disturbing and many a time, I felt as if I were the one being watched. An author’s words have never felt so powerfully creepy to me but the funny thing is, I carried on reading. I was captivated by the mystery, addicted by the next move and I was frightened for Jessica.

As the plot eased into Part Two, half of the story finished and I thought “now, it’s time for the courts, right?” Wrong. Oh so very wrong. The courts weren’t even mentioned. Instead, readers are taken on a true mystery journey and it was plot twist after plot twist after plot twist. I really didn’t know what to expect and towards the end, I found myself gasping with shock at what I was reading.

“…and that’s why I recognise the cushion.” << Keep your eyes open for this sentence as it’s a complete plot twist!

I can’t put the ending into words without wanting to swear: Mind Fluff, I’ll call it. Just when you think you’ve understood the plot completely, Tammy changes it once more. If you’re going to read one book this Christmas, please read this as it’s creepy, addictive, captivating, horrific, deceiving, shocking and truly, truly brilliant.

Twitter: @MsTamarCohen

