Top 10 Books Of 2014

2014

2014 was an incredible year for Fiction – new authors have been introduced and Carole Matthews celebrated her 25th novel. What’s not to love about the literary world? My top 10 books of last year consist of 5 Young Adult, 6 Debut Authors and 1 Male. 2015 has a lot to live up to so I best begin reading…

ONE. The List by Joanna Bolouri

Once again, a debut novel has snatched the top spot and very well deserved I must say. At the beginning of last year, I expressed in my Top 10 Books of 2013 how much Beyond Grace’s Rainbow by Carmel Harrington meant to me. Little did I know that a year later, I would find a book which would give me the exact same feeling. The List isn’t just about sex – it’s about finding yourself. Joanna’s humour is absolutely spot on and it takes a lot to make me laugh but this book had me giggling at three in the morning. It dug me out of a dark place and it’s my ideal pick-me-up book. The quirky golden one-liners were simply the best.

Twitter: @scribbles78
Review

TWO. Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

If you haven’t heard of this book, you’ve clearly not been on social media or into a book shop recently. It’s been everywhere – everyone is talking about it. It’s the perfect Young Adult book in my eyes. It’s highly addictive, with unbelievably good characters, a beautiful setting and a story which I could happily read over and over again. When I finished the book, I wanted more and thankfully, the characters do pop up in Lola And The Boy Next Door (#2) as well as Isla And The Happily Ever After (#3).

Twitter: @naturallysteph
Review

THREE. You’re The One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher

She’s much more than the wife to Tom from McBusted – she’s a super author with a heart of gold. With the title from a Grease song, I was honoured to read this book many months before its publication in May. Love triangles have really caught my attention recently and I found that Giovanna has written the best one. The experience was made even better when I was able to contact the author directly through private messaging on Twitter. To be able to connect one on one and express my thoughts straight away made me love the book even more. I was Team Ben all the way.

Twitter: @MrsGiFletcher
Review

FOUR. The Teashop On The Corner by Milly Johnson

With the best opening chapter that I have ever read, this book was bound to make my top five. As a tea-aholic, I buried my nose in the narrative and found myself becoming friends with the characters. With beautiful descriptions and senses which had me smiling for hours, I couldn’t put the book down. Milly is an author who ought to get more recognition than she does – she’s wonderful, friendly and hilarious. I love tea even more than I did before.

Twitter: @millyjohnson
Review

FIVE. Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

As you enter Louise’s world of Fiction, you get a mixture of Mean Girls, The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood) and Nineteen Eighty-Four (George Orwell) and you may be surprised to hear that this is her debut book. With plot twists galore and a sense of the unknown, Louise takes Young Adult and turns it on its head. I read this book not knowing what to expect and I finished it hoping it would be made into a bestselling film. With characters who have insane personalities, a strong sense of dystopia and a narrative that could turn any corner, this book has had readers shocked. It’s one which I’ll have to read again to fully appreciate and became a bigger fan of – if that’s possible.

Twitter: @oneilllo
Review

SIX. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

I picked this book up at my work experience at Simon & Schuster during August and I deeply wish I had known about it sooner. The two main characters are rather addictive and despite it being a simple plot, it captivated me like never before. I was in one of those moods where no book was enjoyable to me at the time but then I gave Ugly Love a go. It’s ideal if you’re ever stuck in a rut or if you’re on a long haul flight. It’s the only book I’ve read by Colleen and it certainly won’t be the last.

Twitter: @colleenhoover
Review

SEVEN. Soulmates by Holly Bourne

If you haven’t guessed by now, this 24 year old has really enjoyed Young Adult during last year and rightly so – this genre has been ON FIRE! Once again, this is a debut novel and I don’t think anyone would ever expect an ending like it. I read this book not reading the blurb and I think that’s the best way. Two young people find themselves madly attracted to one another and then something happens (well of course, it is Fiction after all)… Holly writes chemistry with such ease and confidence. Her writing flows across the page like a duck to water. This also needs to be a bestselling film. Please note that this is a 2013 book which I read in 2014..

Twitter: @holly_bourneYA
Review

EIGHT. The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me by Laura Tait and Jimmy Rice

First time authors have stolen 2014 and made it their own. Yet again, I find myself typing those very familiar words: debut book. With a cracking personality and a strong sense of humour, Laura and Jimmy are unstoppable. Who knew that two friends could write such a wonderful, romantic story? I remember being the first book blogger to interview the power duo at the beginning of 2014 and I’m really proud of them. It can’t be easy to write a book by yourself, but how do you do it with another person onboard? Their writing gels together allowing it to be familiar (despite being debut) and utterly brilliant – I simply cannot wait for their second book. Move over Kimye, Laura and Jimmy are taking over the world.

Twitter: @LauraAndJimmy
Review

NINE. The Accidental Life Of Jessie Jefferson by Paige Toon

In 2014, Paige announced that she was going to write a Young Adult book. Jessie is a character who has developed from Paige’s Chick Lit series (Johnny Be Good, Baby Be Mine and Johnny’s Girl). I wasn’t sure whether her readers would enjoy the cross over but they did and I was certainly one who screamed about it. With her brilliant characters, captivating plot and addictive writing style – Paige Toon pleases all.

Twitter: @PaigeToonAuthor
Review

TEN. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Ideally, this book ought to be higher up if I’m completely honest. I adored this book and much like Anna And The French Kiss, I found it to be really addictive. The chapters flowed really easily, the characters drew me in, the storyline was interesting but the ending didn’t reach my expectations and I don’t think I’m the only reader to say this. Meeting Rainbow during her book tour was a really treat and she was a very lovely, bubbly and creative lady.

Twitter: @rainbowrowell
Review

