Review

Review of Three Amazing Things About You by Jill Mansell

Published: 15th January 2015
Publishers: Headline
Pages: 384

Blurb:

Hallie has a secret. She’s in love. He’s perfect for her in every way, but he’s seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren’t going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn’t have long to live. Time is running out… Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won’t be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends – let alone anything more. Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she’s afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.

Review:

Thank you to Headline for kindly sending me a review copy.

Hallie has Cystic Fibrosis and she’s about to be given a second chance. The opening chapter begins with the present day as she’s on her way to the hospital at one in the morning. We’re then swiftly taken into the past to understand a lot more about Hallie and the other characters.

Hallie runs an advice website and she’s known to her loyal readers as ‘Rose.’ I instantly liked this aspect of the narrative as it’s easy to relate to. We have the ability to give out advice but to take your own is something else. Tasha Skyes is single and isn’t remotely interested in finding a man, but her friends have other ideas. Flo only met Elsa Travis two years ago and to her surprise, she’s been left Caledonia Place in Elsa’s will, along with a moody cat…

“If anyone tried to attack me, I’d jab them in the eye with a mascara brush.”

The plot came at such an ease and I was completely swept away by it all. The subplot with Tasha and Rory was utterly, utterly cute and I lost count of how many times I said ‘aww.’ The connection between Hallie and Flo was through an elderly lady who had become wildly addicted to the Internet and more importantly, to Hallie’s website.

“Funny how quickly life can change.”

There was so many realistic moments in the narrative which I could relate to. It felt as if I had known Hallie, Tasha and Flo for a couple of years. Their personalities pulled me into the story and I found myself to be emotionally attached to their lives. I thought the old lady and her cat story with Tasha was absolutely hilarious – I have no idea how calm Rory managed to stay!

As the story with Tasha and Rory changed towards the end, I remembered the opening in Hallie’s world. It allowed me to think of how precious life truly is and how it can be taken away from you within a split second. I had really warmed to both Tasha and Flo but instead of being happy for them, sympathy washed over me. The only aspect that I didn’t enjoy was Lena and her annoying boyfriend – oh my, they drove me mad! Talk about dramatically self-centered!

Hallie’s Cystic Fibrosis story was really empowering and she’s the type of character who has the ability to give you a boost even when she’s not doing so great. It was a roller coaster of a narrative, but a fantastic one at that. It was as if it was all meant to be and fate was watching over.

“Life’s all about taking risks… And trust me, I’m a doctor.”

Reading how the three women all came together was really inspiring. Jill wrote the book with such passion and I feel as if I’ve learnt a great deal about Cystic Fibrosis. The email at the end of the book brought a lump to my throat. It was some sort of beautiful miracle and despite it being Fictional, it felt very real to me. It was such a wonderful, heartwarming tale which gripped me from the very beginning right until the end. This could quite possibly be Jill’s best book yet!

Twitter: @JillMansell
Website: www.jillmansell.co.uk

