Lifestyle

How To: Make American Pancakes

Happy Pancake Day!

This is one of my favourite days of the year for the simple reason that my Nan always used to laugh when it was my turn to flip the pancake because she knew I’d fail. That’s one of my favourite memories of her of all time.

Last weekend, I picked up a free ASDA magazine which is full of incredible recipes so next time you’re in there doing a weekly shop, I strongly recommend you pick one up.

*Disclaimer: ASDA are not sponsoring me for this post, I just wanted to try something new as it’s a wonderful day to spend in the kitchen with family and friends. 

American pancakes are my FAVOURITE! I ate them with bacon every single day when I was in Orlando, 2013 – back then, I was barely on Instagram or taking pictures so I am sorry that I don’t have one to show you..

The following recipe makes 20 pancakes and takes 30 minutes to make. You can obviously down size the measurements if you’re just making them for yourself..

Ingredients;

100g plain flour
1 and a half level tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
1 large egg
15g butter, melted
150ml semi-skimmed milk
2 tsp sunflower oil, for cooking
Streaky bacon
Maple Syrup (optional)

Method;

1. Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl and add a pinch of salt. Stir in the sugar, then make a well in the centre and break in the egg. Add the melted butter and a splash of milk. Whisk the mixture to form a thick batter, then gradually whisk in the rest of the milk. Set the mixture aside for 5 minutes. *This would be a great time to cook your bacon either under the grill or in another frying pan!*

2. Using a piece of kitchen roll soaked in oil, grease a nonstick frying pan. Heat until hot but not smoking. Pour in enough mixture to make a small, thick pancake about 7-8cm across. Cook until bubbles form on the top and base is golden brown. Flip over and cook the other side until golden.

3. Slide on a plate and keep warm by covering with a clean tea towel. Repeat with the rest of the batter. Serve with streaky bacon and/or maple syrup.

Enjoy!

EL xx

