Review

Review of Thoughtful by S.C. Stephens

Published: 24th February 2015
Publisher:
Little Brown
Pages: 560

Blurb:

The only place Kellan has ever felt at home is on stage. Gripping his guitar in a darkened bar, he can forget his painful past. These days his life revolves around his music and his band mates, and that’s the way he likes it. And then one woman changes everything…

Kiera is the kind of girl Kellan has no business wanting – she’s smart, sweet, and dating his best friend. Certain he could never be worthy of her love, he hides his growing attraction… Until Kiera’s own tormented heart hints that his feelings might not be one-sided. Now, no matter the consequences, Kellan is sure of one thing: he won’t let Kiera go without a fight.

Review:

Thank you to Little Brown for kindly sending me a review copy. This is Kellan’s side of the first book, Thoughtless. After reading all three of the other books, I was intrigued to see how this one would pan out…

Kellan is much more than a pretty face and a man with a musical talent; he’s damaged and not in the way which you’d expect. His flashbacks continue throughout the entire plot and some aren’t easy to read about. With strong themes of violence, pain, brotherhood and rejection, it really gives the readers (old and new) a chance to see how Kellan has become the man he is today.

“He’d stepped in front of the hit for me, taken any pain..” 

The connection between Kellan and Kiera is instant and I’m pretty sure everyone can feel it. We already know how Kiera feels from Thoughtless, but if you’re a fan of love triangles constantly going back-and-forth, you’ll love this one! When they’re together, the book excels with sheer brilliance and when they’re apart, a dark cloud forms. I found myself wanting them to be together (despite already knowing the outcome) and when things moved forward, you just know they’ll eventually take ten steps back.

“I had Kiera on the brain twentyfour/seven.”

S.C. Stephens has a gift; one which will leave you completely addicted to her books. She has created a very deep main character within Kellan and that is an aspect which I really admire as she’s made him to be three-dimensional rather than all about the good looks. What allowed me to enjoy Kellan as a character was the use of his thoughts (in italics) as they give readers more of an idea who he truly is and what he really wants out of life.

The characters are all family to one another; they have one another’s backs and that really gave the narrative an extra boost. You’re surrounded by these characters who you may/may not have met before and for me, it was as if I were coming home.

“I saw the way she cared about me in her shy smile.”

The back and forth motion of the love triangle was intense and at first, I wasn’t sure how it would pan out with it being from Kellan’s point of view, but as expected – it was brilliant! The saucy scenes were very well described and it brought you closer to knowing what Kellan wanted. As much as I did love this book, I did prefer Kiera’s point of view in Thoughtless; perhaps it’s because it was a fresh story then and now, I knew what was happening? Either way, I highly, highly recommend and if you read this before Kiera’s – let me know what you think!

Twitter: @SC_Stephens_

 

