Review of Creature Comforts by Trisha Ashley

Published: 26th February 2015
Publisher: Avon
Pages: 400

Blurb:

Izzy has broken off her engagement to her feckless fiancée Kieran and returned to her childhood home – the sleepy village of Halfhidden. She soon realizes that life in the village is anything but peaceful – for one thing she’s living with her mad aunt Debo and her pack of dogs, and for another, Izzy has a lot of unanswered questions. When she was a teenager, Izzy was involved in a terrible accident, involving various inhabitants of Halfhidden. As she sets out to discover what actually happened on the night of the accident, she realizes that her painful past is actually standing in the way of her future happiness. So when a handsome stranger comes to Halfhidden will she let love back into her life?

Review:

Thank you to Avon for kindly sending me a review copy.

The prologue in 1993 sees an underage Izzy driving a Range Rover, hitting what seems to be an abnormally large pothole and crashing into a tree. Straight away, we hear from others characters but not from the main lady herself. The narrative quickly zooms forward to 2012 where she is now a fully grown woman; flying back to the UK to fix her engagement and decide what she really wants to do with her Dad’s money.

I instantly liked Izzy; as she took no nonsense and in the Chick-Lit books which I’ve read 90% of the female leads just graciously bow down without sticking up for themselves. Team Independent Women! She certainly took no rubbish from her “it’s my way or no way” fiancé and his stuck up “we expect you to fall into step with our rules” parents. Double ugh in my books!

“I think it all comes down to following your heart. But sometimes you also need to use your head.”

When Izzy talks about past experiences surrounding the villagers, it was the long winded sentences constantly full of sentences which threw me off. I can handle them, but not one after another and at times, I need quick witted ones to break the others up. Sometimes, I had a clear idea of what was happening and when the past was mentioned, a spanner was thrown into the works. Izzy seemed to do her fair share of moaning about her problematic engagement and at times, I just wanted to grab her by the shoulders to give her a good shake. She needed to get rid of the man who clearly wasn’t the one for her – but then again, Trisha had it all under control so I trusted that she would write what was best and when it would happen.

The car crash which occurred in the prologue featured quite a lot in the beginning of each chapter and that was what I absolutely loved about the narrative. Seeing little snippets of Izzy’s memory come back was a well played move from Trisha as I was highly intrigued and desperately wanted to know more. Readers are given clues every now and then, which I liked but from the first couple of chapters, I had an indication of what may happen and to my surprise, I wasn’t far from the truth!

“I was going to give a talk in the village hut tomorrow on knitting with dog hair.”

As the plot progressed, I found myself really enjoying the flashback snippets more than anything else. The dream sentences were fresh, understanding and had me gripped to the pages. They were the reason behind Izzy making several drastic life changes and I was pleased they gave her the push she needed and deserved. Trisha never fails to write a great hearty story and with a sprinkle of mystery, it’s safe to say I enjoyed Creature Comforts!

Twitter: @trishaashley

