Review

Review of Half Wild by Sally Green

Published: 26th March 2015
Publishers: Penguin
Pages: 416

Blurb:

After finally meeting his elusive father, Marcus, and receiving the three gifts that confirm him as a full adult witch, Nathan is still on the run. He needs to find his friend Gabriel and rescue Annalise, now a prisoner of the powerful Black witch Mercury. Most of all he needs to learn how to control his Gift – a strange, wild new power that threatens to overwhelm him.

Meanwhile, Soul O’Brien has seized control of the Council of White Witches and is expanding his war against Black witches into Europe. In response, an unprecedented alliance has formed between Black and White witches determined to resist him. Drawn into the rebellion by the enigmatic Black witch Van Dal, Nathan finds himself fighting alongside both old friends and old enemies. But can all the rebels be trusted, or is Nathan walking into a trap?

Review:

Thank you to Penguin for kindly sending me a review copy. Please note that Book #1 is Half Bad and this is #2. These are those kind of books which you have to be careful with because every sentence gives away the plot so bear with…

“But I’m alive. I’m seventeen, a fully fledged, received-three-gifts witch.”

In the first part of the book, readers discover that Nathan can turn into an animal, but the species is yet to be defined. Potter fans, are you sensing the similarity? I really like how Sally included the sounds as spelt out words and as they grew closer to Nathan, the text on the page became bigger. I really liked that she put her own twist on the writing and without a doubt, she made it unique.

“We need to use your soul.”

Sally has really upped the mention of witchcraft in Half Wild and it’s certainly a lot darker than the previous book. At times, I felt like Nathan was a completely different person at times – he’d really come into his own. His friendship with Annalise varies throughout the book; they’re friends, they want to touch, they’re at a distance, they’re fighting and then, the unexpected. I did like the varied relationship between them because it wasn’t what I expected at all – I thought Annalise would fight against her family in order to be with Nathan. But that’s the power of fantasy; every single sentence has the ability to change the entire plot.

The narrative seemed to slowly build up to the last couple of of chapters and unlike the previous book where my vision for the scenes was clear, I found that with the second book, I needed to reread certain parts as it wasn’t made certain where people were. I think with that being said, despite the description being great, it could have been crisper but then again, I do have a uncorrected proof copy.

For the third book, I hope there is more than a fight. Half Bad felt like Deathly Hallows; Part 1 – all the journey and a tiny bit of battle at the end before the next one. I really enjoyed the book and I’m certainly looking forward to how the third one turns out.

Twitter: @Sa11eGreen

 

