Five Products On My Face

beauty

Happy Monday! 

I’ve heard the saying “less is more” quite a lot recently and I wanted to express how I feel when I wear only five makeup products on my face (not including skincare or the brushes). So today, I bring you yet another beauty post in the hope that it may inspire you to wear less (if you want) or to encourage you to make a blog post about how you feel towards how much makeup you wear on a daily basis.

Let me throw some facts out for you first…

1. Beauty comes from within
I’m not sure if this is a fact but it ought to be. When you wake up in the morning or when you’re putting on a face mask before bed, you’re beautiful. You really don’t need anyone to tell you that you are because beauty comes from within. Self esteem plays a huge part in how we feel about our looks but does it really matter if we’re a selfie pro like Kim Kardashian West? No, it doesn’t.

2. I have a baby face
I’m 24 years old and I look like a 12 year old. It’s one of the many reasons why I don’t drink when I’m out at a social event as it’s always a pain to try to convince the bartender that I am over 18 and yes, that is a dodgy I.D picture but it’s still me. I think the young gene goes from both of my Nan’s. Thanks ladies…

3. I don’t wear a lot of makeup
I never wore makeup in high school. I just couldn’t be bothered to look like an Oompa Loompa everyday – it must have been tiring and let’s not even mentioned the girls who wore foundation on their lips. Yes, you read that right – ON the lips. I only really wore makeup when I read college (mascara and eyeliner) and then in my third (but not final) year of University, I was introduced to the love of my life: liquid eyeliner. To top it all off, I had a bad time with foundation a few weeks before my Uni Leavers Ball and thankfully, my skin cleared up in time.

4. I have a skincare routine
I use three moisturisers (Nivea for cleaning my face in the morning, Johnsons 24hr Day Cream, Nivea again to take makeup off and then Johnsons Night Cream). It’s as simple as that. I do have sensitive skin and finding the right products for me as been surprisingly easy.

5. I wash my makeup brushes
This is kind of part of my skincare routine I guess, but nevertheless, it is important to clean your brushes. I’m no makeup expert but it can’t be good, can it? I clean them every Sunday morning before letting them dry out in the airing cupboard. If you’re interested – I don’t use a makeup spray, I use my Aussie shampoo as I do want my brushes to be clean as well as smelling nice.

This #lessismore idea is just an idea – simple as that. I don’t want it to be a campaign or anything serious. It’s just my products, my face and my thoughts as well as other bloggers joining in. Below are a list of the five products I used on my face that day as well as my overall thoughts about wearing them…

PRODUCT 1: Collection Concealer (Fair)

 IMG_3978

PRODUCT 2: Natural Collection Pressed Power (Warm)

 IMG_3980

PRODUCT 3: L’Oreal Super Liner Ultra Precision (Black)

 IMG_3982

PRODUCT 4: W7 Absolute Lashes (Black)

 IMG_3984

PRODUCT 5: 2true Eyeliner (Black) *this is my emergency eyeliner as my MAC one has broke*

 IMG_3986

I didn’t mind wearing the five products as I knew I wouldn’t. The thought of constantly applying foundation (if my skin would let me) just doesn’t tick for me. The only items missing from my daily makeup are eye shadow, bronzing pearls and a touch of lipstick – that’s it. I wear eight products on my face and it must take me about fifteen minutes, but from today’s minimal look, it took me six to seven minutes and I’ve got more time to do other things like get this post ready for you.

 IMG_4010

Whether you wear a lot of makeup or not, I hope this post somehow inspired you whether it’s to try the products I briefly mentioned, if it’s to clean your brushes regularly or to do a #lessismore blog post.

If you could only wear FIVE products on your face, which would you choose and why? Let me know in the comments below!

EL xx

7 thoughts on “Five Products On My Face

Comments are closed.