Lifestyle

10 Things I Loved About Easter

Well, that four day weekend went ridiculously quick!

Today I wanted to bring you a post all about Easter and what I loved about the long weekend. Before we begin, I do apologise for not posting on Friday and yesterday (Monday) – I decided that on Bank Holidays, I’m not going to post. People did tweet and email me to ask if everything was ok – all is hunky dory and today, you’re getting two posts!

Let’s continue.. As you all know, I’m a big fan of Katy’s Happy Monday posts so of course, I was deeply inspired to show you ten of my favourite things about the past four days. Sit back, relax and enjoy.

1. No Social Media

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll have spotted that on Thursday evening I decided to take a break while it was the long Bank Holiday. I did, however, post one or two snaps on Instagram; but that’s totally allowed. It was really nice to be able to switch the wifi off, take some quality time out and just switch my Internet brain off. I think that when social media affects you more than your day-to-day life, then it’s time to step back for a little while.

2. Quality Family Time

IMG_5433

Family is the absolute best. Recently I lost a very close friend of mine and it’s made me realise that you must always stick by your family because they’re the only people who will truly support you. I spent the evening of Easter Saturday with my Aunt & Uncle, stuffing our faces with tasty Chinese food before spending the morning of Easter Sunday with my two beautiful nephews – Ollie did the hippo jigsaw without any help and Ben wouldn’t stop saying “duck.” I gave them their chocolate bars (no eggs in ASDA/Tesco – major sad moment) and as long as they get chocolate in some shape or form, they’re happy.

3. Puppy Walks

IMG_5448

Our Border Collie is a nutter. There’s no other way to describe him. I love taking him for walks along the embankment so on Easter Sunday and Easter Monday, Mum and I took him for an extra long walk in the sunshine/fog. *cue the rosy red cheeks*

4. Brookies

IMG_5394

Lily Pebbles is one of my all time favourite bloggers/YouTubers and on one of her weekly vlogs, she mentioned these “brookies.” Literally no one in my family had heard of them but I made them on Good Friday and they lasted until 5pm on Easter Sunday. SO YUMMY! My Uncle said they reminded him of Millies Cookies which is a wonderful compliment as I adore those! I’ll be making more of these for Ollie’s 2nd birthday so a recipe will be coming..

5. Shopping

PicMonkey Collage

On Good Friday, Mum and I took ourselves into town and in particular to the retail park where Dorothy Perkins/Next are. I bought two gorgeous new rings and despite the pearl one being a little bit too big, they’re really great for the price. £5 for two! #bargain

6. Finishing A Book

IMG_5416

If you check my 2015 Reads from time to time, you’ll know that I read quite a lot. If I wasn’t a book blogger, I still read. I finished The Vintage Guide To Love And Romance by Kirsty Greenwood on Saturday afternoon and I really enjoyed it. More to come on that when my review goes live later this month.

7. Hot Cross Bun Bread

IMG_5409

NOM NOM NOM. This is heaven and I deeply wish ASDA stocked it all year round. You know those Heinz tins of spaghetti with sausage? Yup? Put that on top of the bread. You’ll be in food heaven.

8. Sunday Dinner

Sunday isn’t Sunday without a roast dinner, especially a chicken one. My mum makes THE BEST roasts and I don’t care if you want to argue against that but she does. With Yorkshire puds, lots of gravy and natter around the table; it’s the perfect way to end any weekend.

9. The Weather

IMG_5427

Ok, so we did have rain throughout Good Friday and a foggy evening on Sunday but during the day, it was glorious! I’m welcoming the lighter evenings with open arms.

10. Healthy Eating

IMG_5493

On Sunday evening while watching Skyfall, I ate my Easter egg and from Monday onwards; I’m drinking smoothies, slowing down on carbs and having no chocolate/crisps. I need to get my body back to where it was when I was 18. I’ve really wanted to lose weight for a while and it truly is the reason why I’m unhappy in life. I’ll be keeping you all updated but in the mean time, read this incredibly inspiring blog post.

What did you do during Easter? Let me know in the comments below.

EL xx

8 thoughts on “10 Things I Loved About Easter

  1. I love this post! A proper feel good read 🙂 I didn’t do much this Easter but a family Sunday lunch, a walk in the sunshine & lots of chocolate were involved, so not too shabby. Your weekend sounds lovely. xxx

    onlybecci.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. This is a great post! Easter is such a lovely holiday and I have been enjoying spending time with my family as I have three weeks off from uni. I am loving the weather too 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.