HOW TO: Winged Liquid Eyeliner

Hello!

On Twitter, I see so many Beauty Bloggers asking for tips regarding how to do cat/winged liquid eyeliner. For me, I began doing this when I was 20 and four years later, it’s a firm part of my daily makeup routine. So, if you’re one of those people who needs a smidge of guidance, then I hope this helps you in some sense..

*Disclaimer: L’Oreal have not sponsored me and this is a tutorial before applying mascara

The Product

IMG_5655

IMG_5657

IMG_5663

You know what I’m about to say.. HOLY GRAIL. I absolutely adore this L’oreal Super Liquid Eyeliner and it’s been my favourite makeup product since forever. I know a lot of Beauty Bloggers rave about this product and so they should! I have no faults with it at all. Perfection!

The Books

IMG_5665

IMG_5667

IMG_5677

Books are a brilliant to pick up tips and you know me, I love them! When I started with liquid eyeliner, I had Lauren Conrad’s Style book and little did I know how much it would help me. It taught me what I’m about to show you so sit tight! With Fleur’s book, it’s great for the teenagers of the now and in my review, I noted that it was an updated version of LC’s. Win win.

The Tutorial – Let’s Keep It Simple!

STEP ONE
With the eyeliner, draw a thin line your eyelid.
It should follow the shape of your eye around from one end to the other.

IMG_5685

IMG_5688

STEP TWO
Create a flick in the upper direction
Take that flick and draw a partner above it
Colour the wing in

*You can make this as big or small as you like!*

IMG_5690

IMG_5694

STEP THREE
Create the upper part by starting in the middle and working to the flick before
working towards your iris

IMG_5696

IMG_5702

Voila! Liquid Eyeliner in three simple steps. But now for the tricky part..

Matching The Flicks

STEP FOUR
On the other eye, follow steps 1, 2 and 3
With the wing, take it from the same flick point as the first eye

This does take practice and nobody will notice if it’s a tiny bit higher/lower than the other
Wings are sisters, not twins!

IMG_5704

The Finished Look

IMG_5709

IMG_5714

IMG_5716

IMG_5728

I hope this tutorial came in handy for those who want to achieve the winged liquid eyeliner look. For daytime, I enjoy having small thin flicks but if I’m out at an event during the evening, I tend to go a bit bolder.

Let me know in the comments below what you thought! 

EL xx

4 thoughts on “HOW TO: Winged Liquid Eyeliner

  1. Not sure I have the guts to try , but possibly might give it a go. Looks great, but I have an unsteady hand and an awful habit of laying it on too thick, then removing it a few mins later!

    Like

Comments are closed.