Review

Review of Catch Me If You Cannes (Pt3) by Lisa Dickenson

PT3

Published: 18th May 2015
Publisher: Little Brown
Pages: 53

Blurb:

Things could not be going better between Jess and Leo. Every moment they spend together is lovely and sunkissed and full of anticipation. Jess hasn’t felt like this in a very long time and she doesn’t want it to end. Sure, Leo is a bit vague about certain areas of his life but that doesn’t mean anything… Suddenly Jess’s perfect holiday romance isn’t looking so great and she has a choice to make – should she ignore what Bryony is telling her and keep living the dream, or should she run the risk of losing Leo in order to prove her friend wrong?

Review: 

Thank you to Little Brown for kindly sending me a review copy. As part of the blog tour which I’m a part of, I’m reviewing Lisa’s book in four parts. See part 4 on the 27th.

As expected, the opener was a bit of a drama after part 2 ended in a friendship bicker so this would be a real test, but why here in Cannes and over a man you barely know? Welcome to the female population! What the heart wants, it wants..

“Don’t be that journalist making stuff up.”

With Jess determined to learn the truth about Leo, Lisa upped her writing game and plot became really interesting. I do love a good crime popping up. There was a mystery about the situation and I found myself wanting to know the truth just as much as Jess did. In terms of Lisa’s writing, there was a lot more visual description during this part and I felt like I was finally sinking my teeth into the plot.

“Could we go spy on some celebs, maybe find some people smooching people they shouldn’t be smooching?”

As well as the drama in Cannes, there was someone who Jess had left at home and he popped up when Jess was happy. Well, it happens to us all. I’m sure men have a light bulb which lights up when we’re in a good place. Grr.. I really liked this element of the plot because it was realistic and I could relate to it. This was by far one of the better parts of the book. The action was quick, attractive and interesting to me as a reader.

“No one reminds me of both brand – new sunrises and Classic Hollywood stars at the same time like you do.”

Review Instalments:
Part 4 on the 27th

Twitter: @LisaWritesStuff

 

