Review

Review of The Lie by C.L Taylor

Published: 23rd April 2015
Published: Avon
Pages: 400

Blurb:

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist. Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women. Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves…

Review: 

Thank you to Avon for kindly sending me a review copy.

Jane Hughes works in an animal shelter and from time-to-time, she has to deal with owners who aren’t used to getting their own way yet she certainly knows the sign of a trapped woman when she sees one. But how? It doesn’t stop there; someone knows the truth about her real life and she’s not willing for that to be exposed…

“…and for the past five years I’ve been pretending to be someone else.”

With a plot full of mystery such as this one, going back in time is essential and it is most definitely my favourite aspect of the narrative. When our main character books a holiday to Nepal with her friends, I began to wonder what could have happened in order for her to change her entire identity. The character of Daisy was a mixed one; she’s one of those girls who wants everyone to worship her 24/7 unless she’s have a hissy fit. She wasn’t a flaky character as such but because of her precious Daddy and his large wallet, she was used to life being revolved around her.

“Is that the waterfall I can hear?”

Despite Jane not being who she said she is, I still found her to be a reliable narrator (an expression I learnt from my Film Studies degree!). A lot of readers would be able to relate to her whether it’s having anxiety or having a group of friends who you part with after a while. The plot moved at the right pace and events happened in the ideal chapters – I didn’t feel like the book was being rushed at all yet I’m one of those readers who wants to know the big reveal right at the beginning. The transition of moving from past to present and back again was smooth and it was made very clear which time period we were reading about.

“Will isn’t the sort of man to turn up drunk for a leg-over after a night’s heavy drinking.”

With the mystery of what happened in the past and why Jane is being victimised in the future, it is very difficult not to give anything away because all the chapters are linked to the truth and if I said one thing, it would spoil it and nobody likes a book to be ruined. Leading up to the end when it was all revealed, I was shocked to learn the truth and I was a little bit disappointed that Jane told us what happened in the present day rather than allowing us to find out in the past – that’s the only aspect I would have changed. With the subject of Mental Health being included in more ways than one, I thought Cally did a wonderful job of portraying it so clearly. The whole narrative was one big adventure which was scary, intense yet exciting all rolled into one. I truly didn’t want the book to end because it was one of those magnificent reads which you’ll continue to think about and I still feel like I’m putting the pieces together. If you’ve already read The Lie, try Shipwrecked (#1) by Siobhan Curham.

Twitter: @callytaylor

