Review of Mile High by Rebecca Chance

Published: 13th August 2015
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Pages: 400

Blurb: 

Pure Air’s new LuxeLiner is flying from London to LA – its inaugural journey – with a first-class cabin packed with A List celebrities. As the feuding crew compete to impress their famous passengers, the handsome pilot tries to win the attention of a pretty young stewardess. But one VIP singer is battling something seriously sinister: watching her every step is a very determined stalker, someone who will go to any lengths to get the star to satisfy their desires. At thirty thousand feet there is nowhere to run, and nowhere to hide…

Review:

Thank you to Pan Macmillan for sending me a super early review copy but not only that – I’m actually in the book as well as Kevin! How cool?

Catalina has a stalker. She is currently on her way to LA from London to perform her song ‘Forever Is Now’ from a recent hit Disney film and the familiar comparison to Idina Menzel was a risk but it’s one which paid off and as the plot continued, the similarity disappeared. The prologue about the stalker was a strange one simply because I didn’t expect it from Rebecca but it wasn’t overpowering and it kind of stayed in the background of the plot itself.

“I’ll have their fucking guts for garters, as my old Granddad used to say.”

Catalina may be a global pop star with everything at her finger tips but deep down, she’s depressed and alone. Danny, on the other hand, is a non-stop machine and will screw any woman he wants whether they want to or not. Just ignore your wife though Danny, yeah? Lucinda wasn’t very well liked by her boss at PureAir but that was the least of her worries and quite frankly, she didn’t care and I loved her for that! Despite all the racy scenes, Rebecca does a brilliant job of including deeper issues such as drugs, grief and being stalked. It’s a real mixture of topics as well as diverse characters.

“Nearly two years of planning were about to culminate in one glorious moment of triumph and then they would be with Catalina forever.”

As I said at the top of my review – I’m in the book! I dared Rebecca AGES ago to include Kevin and I in her next book and here we are. It was actually hilarious to read about a fictional character based on me and my name. We really were the Terrible Twins but at least we had fun while in the air. It was a privilege to be involved so a huge thank you to Rebecca for that.

“…but two passengers currently abroad PureAir III would be arrested once the plane landed...”

With a lot of drama, sex in the toilets, drunk and drugged up passengers, a stalker and several landing reunions – this narrative has everything you can possibly want and more. Now, I liked it but I wasn’t crazy about it and Killer Queens will always remain my favourite but it was really nice to back inside Rebecca’s brilliantly created fictional world.

Twitter: @MsRebeccaChance

