How I Take & Edit My Instagram Pictures

IMG_8650

Morning!

In August, my blogging friend Katy wrote this post about how she edits her Instagram pictures and for me, her photography is on point. Her ideas are constantly fresh and I always look forward to seeing her next one. So I thought, why not show you how I take and edit my Instagram snaps?

My first picture is from 51 weeks ago when I decided to go ombre and that was before I knew about ALL the hashtags, the ability to brighten/sharper a picture. I just clicked on a filter and hoped for the best. But now, I’m more aware of HOW I take the picture, HOW I crop it and HOW I edit it. Crazy right? Let me show you..

1.) Taking The Picture

IMG_8651

Taking pictures from above is sometimes the best option in order to get the best result whether it’s of flowers and a candle or of your breakfast and a brew. But in terms of taking pictures of beauty products, it’s best to get shots from an on level angle so that way, there are no flares. Or if you want the shot from above, do it but move yourself and your phone/camera to the side.

2.) Cropping The Picture

IMG_8654

Can you crop pictures on Instagram? I don’t know. What I do know is that it’s very easy to do so in your camera roll. For me, I crop because I want a little bit of a white outline whether that is on top/bottom or either sides. For example, I’ll crop this picture of a candle because I’ve got items peeping up which I don’t wish to include. Sometimes at events, you can’t move items but you certainly can crop!

3.) Whitagram

IMG_8652

Whitagram is an app I’ve been using for quite a while now and I’m absolutely loving it. 99% of my pictures on Instagram are used with this app. After you crop, you upload the picture to Whitagram and it adds the white outline for you. You either have the option of saving it to your camera roll or going straight into Instagram and that is exactly what I do…

4.) Instagram The Shizzle Out Of It

IMG_8656

First up is brightness. This is an old picture of my Border Collie puppy Merf. SO CUTE. I tend to put the brightness on either 70 or 100 – it depends on whether it completely washes the picture out or not. Here, it’s 70.

IMG_8657

I only recently started to sharpen my pictures (because of Katy’s blog post actually) and I find that it adds SO much more definition to the picture. Now, it bothers me that it’s on 51 and not 50 like I wanted but you know.. I’ll survive

IMG_8658

IMG_8659

There are two filters on Instagram which I absolutely love: Crema and Aden. I didn’t actually post this picture or perhaps I did, many weeks ago but I do enjoy the Instagram updates which include new filters. Sad, I know.

But that is it. It’s really as simple as that. I like the fact that I have my own Instagram style and despite sometimes uploading a collage (used by Instagram’s layout app), I’m happy with what I post. It’s a mixture of books, food, clothing, the puppy and life in general. You can find me at emmalouise_blogger πŸ™‚ I hope you’ve learnt some tips which may come in handy and don’t forget to hashtag.

EL xx

7 thoughts on “How I Take & Edit My Instagram Pictures

  1. I’ve never heard of that app! I wrote a post on all the photo editing apps on my blog too! Check it out and let me know if you have tried them. Are they better than whitagram or shall I try using whitagram? πŸ™‚ xo

    Like

Comments are closed.