Guest Post

Veronica Henry’s High Tide Inspired Recipe

Veronica Henry here, welcoming you to Pennfleet!

Pennfleet is the fictional seaside town where High Tide is set. I first visited it in The Long Weekend, which followed the lives of the owners and guests in The Townhouse by the Sea hotel over one summer weekend.  I longed to return to Pennfleet and explore its narrow winding streets further, and find out about the people who lived there.  It’s no secret that Pennfleet is inspired by Fowey, in Cornwall, a place I adore and visit as often as I can.  Every time I go there, I press my nose up against the window of the local estate agents, and fantasise about buying one of the houses for sale.  It might be a tiny fisherman’s cottage, or a rambling cliff-top mansion, or a sleek modern penthouse with a sea view.  One day, I decided to look behind the doors of all my fantasy homes and see what was going on.

The Long Weekend was set in glorious summer, but for High Tide I wanted to write about the mellowness of autumn.  For me it is a time of change and a chance for new beginnings, and that is very much the theme of the book.

Here is a quick recipe inspired by autumn in Pennfleet – enjoy!!

Field mushrooms on toast (for two)..

First dry fry a couple of slices of prosciutto in a pan until crispy.

Leave to one side.

Melt a generous tablespoon of butter in pan.

Gently fry a clove of garlic, taking care not to burn.

Add a selection of finely sliced field mushrooms and cook until soft, adding more butter if necessary.

Add a handful of chopped flat leaf parsley.

Toast two thick slices of sourdough and tip the mushroom mixture on top.

Snap up the crispy prosciutto and scatter on the top.

Enjoy!

High Tide is released on the 24th September and of course, you can read my review here! 

