Lifestyle

Those Little Relaxing Apps

Hello,

Today, I wanted to try something a little different with inspiration taken from a recent YouTube video from Anna aka. Vivianna Does Makeup which you can watch here. The video really struck a chord with me as I’m quite the worrier, I’ve battled my own anxiety and until recently, I was having no panic attacks but every now and then, I’ve found myself having mini attacks which are very easy to control but I wanted to use this as a chance to try a different approach.

IMG_8906

Apps come in all shapes and sizes whether it’s Social Media being used daily or Candy Crush that can be played without the need of WiFi. You can’t deny that they do come in handy. I’m going to go through each app with little notes here and there about how I’ve found them to be useful on a daily basis or just every now and then.

IMG_8898

IMG_8899

IMG_8900

Calm is a headphone based app which is brilliant for when you’re in a busy area and you’re feeling a little anxious or stressed. What I like the most about this app is that before you’ve even begun, you’re doing deep breaths before the session itself. I found that the 9 minute session was useful when I had a long period of time to myself in order to collect my thoughts.

IMG_8901

IMG_8902

The Pottery app is a dark horse. You wouldn’t think that moving your fingers about on a screen to create a pretend vase would be relaxing but it actually is. I’m yet to come completely to grips with this app, I think it’s one you’ve got to continue going back to in order to really benefit from it. Plus, if you’re feeling creative with nothing around you – it’s great.

IMG_8903

IMG_8904

From Anna’s suggestion, I downloaded an app called Rituals which gives you the choice of 5, 10, 15 or 20 minutes of relaxation whether that is relaxing your body, relaxing your mind or just enjoying the moment. You can use these if you’re out for a walk in the countryside or when you’re on the train. I really have benefited from this app more than I thought possible and I’m so glad that someone like Anna informed me about it because now, I can share it with you!

Now, I may only have three apps to help me but I think it’s best to have few which you truly benefit from than having many which you struggle to connect with. If none of these apps worked for you, just simply type in key words such as ‘relax’ ‘anxiety’ ‘stress’ etc. to your app store and SO many free ones will pop up.

I hope today’s post helped you in some way. If you have any free app suggestions, please leave them in the comments below for fellow readers – thank you!

EL xx

