Review

Review of You And Me, Always by Jill Mansell

Published: 28th January 2016
Publisher:
Headline
Pages:
368

Blurb:

On the morning of Lily’s twenty-fifth birthday, it’s time to open the very last letter written to her by her beloved mother, who died when she was eight.Β Learning more about the first and only real love of her mum’s life is a revelation. On the same day, Lily also meets Eddie Tessler, a man fleeing fame who just might have the ability to change her world in unimaginable ways. But her childhood friend Dan has his own reasons for not wanting Lily to get too carried away by Eddie’s attentions.Β Before long, secrets begin to emerge and Lily’s friends and family become involved. In the beautiful Cotswold village of Stanton Langley, nothing will ever be the same again…

Review:

Thank you to Headline for kindly sending me a review copy.

You And Me, Always begins with a very uplifting and quite entertaining chapter. Straight away, we met our two main characters Lily and Dan who I instantly loved reading about. Their friendship was so smooth, easy to fall into step with and Jill made me believe that they truly had been the best of friends since their childhood. Patsy (sister to Dan) is a bubbly, full of energy character whose point of view I strongly enjoyed reading. Her life was interesting, hilarious and at the best of times, she knew how to surprise people.

“You can see the connection between you. You can feel it. I mean, I’m not just imagining it, am I? It’s really and truly there.”

On Lily’s 25th birthday, she receives the final letter from her Mum who passed away when she was young; I thought this was a heartwarming idea for a storyline especially because it could twist and turn in any direction and Lily chose to hunt someone down. The plot wasn’t just about digging up her Mum’s past, Lily also had an unlikely love interest with a particular star and not surprisingly, her best friend Dan (oh hello handsome) didn’t like the new chap one little bit. I wonder why?

“If I’m lucky, my lunch will be a doughnut and a mug of tea.”

I liked the fact that the book wasn’t just from Lily’s point of view, we heard from four characters in total and all of their stories were just as interesting and captivating as the next. Jill’s writing is so captivating, exciting and you really do go on a wonderful journey with these characters. Despite having a sneaky suspicion where the main plot line would end up, I still enjoyed the anticipation of the story. This is a book which I’m quite certain people will love in the New Year so make sure you pick up a copy because Jill Mansell does not disappoint.

Twitter: @JillMansell

