--

Blogmas Day 10: Make A Christmas Wish by Julia Williams

Blogmas

Published: 5th November 2015
Publisher: Avon
Pages: 400

On the tenth day of Blogmas…

Blurb:

Last Christmas, when Livvy was knocked down in the supermarket car park she certainly wasn’t ready to actually be dead! For months now she’s floated on the edge of the afterlife, generally making a nuisance of herself. And she’s not ready to go just yet! She’s furious about the new woman in her husband’s life and she’s worried about her beloved son who doesn’t seem to be adjusting to life without her at all. This Christmas, Livvy is given one last magical chance to make everything right. Will she take it and give her family the perfect Christmas?

Review:

Thank you to Avon for kindly sending me a review copy.

The festive read opens with a diary entry from Joe deeply wishing his Mum would return to celebrate Christmas with him. The plot then quickly takes the reader back in time to a car park incident where Livvy has been run over by a first time driver. The events happen in quite the fast pace but I really liked that and as Livvy remains stuck between life and death, it seems she has a job to do before she can pass over.

“Damn right I have unfinished business. This is ridiculous. I have to get back to my husband and son. They need me. I want to talk to someone in charge.”

As the plot remains in the past, it isn’t just Livvy’s ghost who we hear from. In fact, we hear from her cheating husband Adam and the woman he was doing the dirty with Emily. I really liked how involved they were in the narrative rather than just floating around being in the background every now and then. The timing changes quite a bit throughout the past and within a few sentences, a year has gone by without readers knowing yet because of the past, readers find out a lot of information which allows the pieces to come together.

“A mum is many things. Sometimes she is kind and not. Sometimes she makes mistakes.”

Honestly, I really do wish I had enjoyed this plot more. Julia’s writing is always great to read but for me, this just didn’t feel like a Christmas book despite the plot being sugar coated in all things festive. I wasn’t let down by the plot, I just thought it didn’t suit the particular season. But don’t be put off by my words, it’s just my opinion after all.

Twitter: @JCCWilliams

