Blogmas

Blogmas Day 20: 2015 Book Favourites

Blogmas

On the twentieth day of Blogmas…

It’s that time of year again when I share my favourite books of the year. I actually posted my 2014 Book Favourites in January so if you fancy reading that, please do – that was the year of the debuts! So without further or do, my top 10 books of 2015…

*All reviews are linked*

1. The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

ABSOLUTE FAVOURITE! I can not stop recommending this book to people who love thrillers and people who aren’t because before this book, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the genre but now, I’m completely hooked and it’s Paula’s debut!! I’ve reread this twice and despite knowing how the plot ends, the story still completely draws me in. I can’t wait for the film (hopefully next year?!) with Emily Blunt as Rachel.

Well done Paula, this is truly genius!

2. Second Life by S.J Watson

2015 has definitely been the year of thrillers for me. S.J always draws me into his superb plots and leaves me wanting more – guess what? He did just that with Second Life but the ending… I had to talk to SJ about this at his Liverpool Book Signing because… I can’t say but wow, wow, wow!

3. A Christmas Tail by Cressida McLaughlin
[Part One // Part Two // Part Three // Part Four]

It’s really lovely when you’ve known someone for a while before they come bursting onto the author scene and that is exactly what happened with Cressida. When I heard the news that she had teamed up with Harper, I was utterly delighted for her. I was very lucky to be sent her debut book in four separate parts which completes as one called A Christmas Tail but fear not, it’s not just a festive book. I am just addicted to Cressida’s writing – more please!

4. A Parcel For Anna Browne by Miranda Dickinson

I deeply regret not reading more of Miranda’s books because I honestly believe she’s underrated and with a lot of loyal readers behind her, she definitely doesn’t have enough praise. A Parcel For Anna Browne is my favourite feel-good book of the year with a very unexpected turn of events towards the end. I curled up with this beautiful narrative and was extremely addicted within a matter of chapters.

5. Dream A Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher

Oh, I’ve most definitely had one of those dreams where I think “I wish that was real…” With Giovanna’s books, she takes a simple yet unique plot and transforms it into a gorgeous narrative. Her characters are in deep competition with Paige Toon’s because you just can’t help but fall in love with them and most of all, they’re utterly realistic and you can completely relate to them. Another Sarah book was mentioned at Giovanna’s Q&A at her Liverpool Signing.

6. Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Hi, my name is Emma Louise and I am not normal. Is anyone? I can’t have my 2015 Book Favourites without this book because it is utterly magnificent. Holly’s books aren’t just fiction (well they are but roll with me…), they have an awful lot of important life topics especially Mental Health which isn’t spoken about an awful lot and quite frankly, it needs to be. Am I Normal Yet? focuses on anxiety and I really, really needed this book about three/two years ago when I was struggling to understand what my panic attacks are so if you are needing help, this is a book which will allow you to feel a lot calmer about your own MH.

7. The Two Of Us by Andy Jones

With Andy’s debut book, I feel like I was late to the party and now, I’m in full swing of his incredible writing. With a very emotional topic being the center of the plot, I was holding back the tears (if you’ve read it, you’ll know what I’m muttering on about) throughout the majority. It definitely hits home even if you haven’t been through it. It’s a very beautiful book which will have you gasping because well… Read it and you’ll know why. I can’t wait to see what Andy writes about next and fear not, I’ll (hopefully) be early to the reading party.

8. The Sun In Her Eyes by Paige Toon

A book favourites isn’t right without including Paige Toon. Everyone and their dog knows how much I adore this lady and her novels – oh what a surprise! Paige never fails to impress me with her captivating narratives; from beautiful descriptions to a hunky male lead to a love triangle which will have you hooked until the very end but don’t think that it’s one of the Chick-Lit books where you can guess the ending, because believe me, Paige does quite the opposite!

9. See Me by Nicholas Sparks

Much like Paige Toon, everyone knows how obsessed I am with Nicholas Sparks’ books and in actual fact, I’m pretty much in love with the film adaptations as well. What can you say about a Nicholas Sparks narrative that people don’t already know about? I just adore the fact that during every single book, readers are taken a brilliant journey with the characters and if you’ve read other Nicholas Sparks books, you’ll see a topic connection! Bring on his 2016 read.

10. The Chocolate Lovers’ Christmas by Carole Matthews

Oh I do love Christmas books (even if I read them in November). Carole Matthews writes such magnificent narratives and The Chocolate Lovers’ Christmas is no expectation and despite not reading about the ladies before, I felt as if I had known them for quite a while. I really do love reading about women who empower one another rather than trying to battle each other – nobody needs that, especially not at Christmas!

So those are my favourite books of 2015. Have you read any? Let me know your favourites in the comments below. 

EL xx 

