Lovely Things // Week 1

2016

 Hello 2016, it’s nice to see you.

For this year, I wanted to bring a new piece of content which I could bring on a weekly basis and the idea came from a mixture of Carrie Brighton’s Lovely Things and Little Miss Katy’s Happy Monday. I personally think it’s a great way to focus on the positive, rather than the negative seeing as I’ve been calling myself Moaning Myrtle for quite some time now.

Lovely Things is going to be addressed weekly, posting on a Sunday and focusing on the week before hand. Seeing as this is the first of the year, I really wanted to include Christmas and New Year but usually, it’ll be Sunday to Saturday. 

HP2016

Christmas & New Year

Christmas for my family was quiet; we had a cup of tea in the morning whilst opening our presents followed by chocolate for breakfast (obviously). It was the puppy’s second Christmas and of course, his excitement was it’s usual high self. The big dinner which we have around 4 o’clock is my favourite time of the year – pigs in blankets, stuffing, juicy turkey and lots of other delicious food items. 

New Year isn’t a celebration for me. A lot of my family and friends enjoy going out, having a big song and dance but it just isn’t my cup of tea. This year, I watched Mockingjay Part I and it’s safe to say, I really do love The Hunger Games – I am desperate to see the final part. There were fireworks in the farmer’s field at the back of the house and that is how I rang in 2016.

A Quarter Of A Century

On Saturday 26th December, I turned twenty five years old. Yikes. It only seemed like five minutes ago that I was eighteen and new at University – it is completely crazy to think that it was all seven years ago now. Where does the time go? I’m not going to touch very much on my birthday simply because with it being the day after Christmas, nothing really happens. I had my two little nephews over to help me blow out the candles on the cake (or just blow spit over them, ha!) and that was just perfect. 

hotchoc_2016

Pub Lunch 

On New Year’s Day, my folks and I decided to step out the house, into the fresh air and walk off some of the Christmas calories (there are a lot of them, believe me!). It was around noon so we popped into a local pub for a spot of lunch and it was such a pleasant afternoon and a lovely way to kick start a new year. I opted for chicken liver pate for starters (yum) followed by gammon, egg and home made salty chips for main (again, yum). I had a hot chocolate to warm me up and it was just what I needed after a rather chilly walk. 

stag-head-silhouette-26505-1920x1200

One Big Change..

Last night, it all changed. It was supposed to happen on Monday but I got the itch to do it whilst my parents were hosting a mini get together with their friends, so why not? I am now ‘owlsandstags’ across all social media – Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and of course, my blog has changed so please do not be alarmed.

It’s seriously exciting because I really do hope you’re all going to love what I have planned for 2016.

See you next Sunday for Lovely Things // Week 2. 

EL xx

4 thoughts on “Lovely Things // Week 1

  1. I can’t wait to see what you have planned for 2016 🙂 It sounds like you had a lovely Christmas and yes, that meal really is one of the best parts! I had quite a few walks and pub lunches over the last week and I totally love this. Your pub lunch is exactly the kind of thing I would order… yummy! I think this new ‘Lovely things’ post is such a great idea.

    Happy new Year!

    Sarah xxx http://www.whatsasssays.com

    Like

Comments are closed.